We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Bed and Breakfast, warm hosts, comfy beds and lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Exmoor Country House
Ranked #3 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
james_brum74
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic Bed and Breakfast, warm hosts, comfy beds and lovely location”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

I have stayed at this lovely bed and breakfast on several previous trips down to Porlock. The house is fantastic, the rooms have always been clean, comfortable and have lovely views over the garden. Ian and Ann (proprietors) are very warm and welcoming and willing to offer walking advice. I have stayed in many bed and breakfasts and this is certainly towards the top end.

We just got back from a two night stay, but enjoyed our trip so much we opted for a third night.

There is a nice guest lounge where you can relax, read or just pass the time in conversation - or if you feel like it some lovely walks around Dunkerry Beacon and along the South West coastal path. There are several restaurants in Porlock for eveining meals and we always feel welcome when we visit. We will return!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james_brum74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
86
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St Columb Major, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Both the house (inside & out) and gardens are impressive. We stayed for four nights, and would've loved to have stayed more, but had another engagement. Ann and Ian certainly made us very welcome, with tea and home-made cakes, and a friendly chat on arrival. Our room had a lovely view of the front garden and Crawter Hill. The room itself was extremely clean, and very comfortable, with a fine shower & en-suite facilities. The beds were very comfortable, and of a good size. Moreover, it's a quiet location, set back as it is from the main road. If you're looking for a 'greasy-spoon' breakfast, you'll be disappointed. Breakfast was good, tasty, and plentiful, with 'healthy' options provided, locally sourced produce used, and was well suited to our differing needs & tastes. Ann and Ian, the proprietors, are very welcoming and can provide good insights into the local area, eateries, and good walking/cycling routes, to suit all tastes, pockets & abilities. It also proved a good location from which to explore Bossington Hill, Selworthy Beacon, and Dunkery Beacon. We were advised a 'pedestrian friendly' route to walk into Porlock, (a torch being made available for the evening walk back), which worked out well. We had two meals at the Royal Oak in Porlock, and enjoyed both, in a warm & friendly atmosphere. The two collies at the house are very active, and do love to play, and we always found time to throw a rubber frisbee or two with them. Exmoor House is a great place to escape for a quiet & restful break, and we would thoroughly recommend it to anyone looking to explore Exmoor and the local coastal paths.

Room Tip: We had Room 2 (Double), and would recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokenchurch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

House and gardens are beautiful, we stayed one night, but would loved to have stayed more. Ian and Ann made us very welcome, tea and homemade cake on arrival. We had a lovely view of the front garden from our room. The room was extremely clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was good, local produce used, and very tasty. Ian and Ann know their stuff on the area. We timed it right, we arrived the same day as Porlock Carnival, and we loved it. Went to The Piggy in the Middle for dinner, food superb, watch out if you have the cheese and biscuits, there is so much of it! Would recommend Exmoor House to anyone. The two collies at the house love to play, and we couldn't help but join in.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWoodys97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james_brum74
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2010

I have stayed at Exmoor House on several occasions. The house itself is lovely, and in very good repair. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and well equipped. The beds are very comfortable and of a good size. Exmoor house is a great place to escape for a quiet weekend, or to use as a base for walking in Exmoor or along the coastal path. Breakfast is a mix of locally sourced items, and is very tasty. Ian and Ann, the proprietors are very welcoming and can provide good insight into the local area, weather and walking routes.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james_brum74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2008

Have been trying to find reasonably priced but comfortable accommodation during the winter months in the Porlock area and this may be the closest. We paid £70 for a double room with full B&B. Exmoor House is located on the east side of the town of Porlock, just before the road from Minehead dips down into the town.

It's a Georgian style house with about 5 bedrooms. Ours was en-suite, but I looked around a bit and there seemed to be at least one room that just had a separate but private bathroom. We were made to feel welcome when we arrived a little past our scheduled time by Anne and Ian. We were shown to our room and then invited to have tea downstairs. Very nicely presented tea and cakes/cookies. Most welcome, but we did rather feel we were "on command" as we chatted. However, it was very much off season and I think they wanted to make sure we did not feel unwelcome.

The Pipers do not offer evening meals as they are close to the town of Porlock. However, it's really only walking distance in the light evenings of the summer. We would not have felt safe walking into town, despite the short distance, in the winter evening. Drove into town and found easy parking. Friendly pub meal although I can't remember the name of the pub.

Room at Exmoor House was reasonably sized and had a very adequate bathroom. Bed was comfortable and linen of decent quality. Clock radio, TV, good bedside lights and the usual tea/coffee facilties. Nice bathroom fixtures, (shower no bath) although the heat adjustment for the shower was a little difficult to read. Bath gel and shampoo dispensers in the shower. Towels looked rather good, but turned out to be only average when used.

Breakfast in a pleasant downstairs room with some New Age type music playing (the Pipers are very concerned about the environment etc.). Good presentation of cereals and juices, as well as a rather intimidating display of jams, preserves and marmalades. Ian served us our cooked breakfast and the eggs were perfectly done and the bacon/sausage excellent. I had been offered soya and linseed toast, which turned out to be very tasty, as well as probably very good for me.

We did not require any services from the Pipers, but the written materials in the room, plus brochures etc. in the common areas made it clear that they would provide lots of advice and help with walking, biking, touring etc. in the summer months. I saw a little sign that this had been a regional B&B winner last year. I can see why.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Walk into Porlock - this is being very nit-picking
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marleydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExmoorHousePorlock, Owner at Exmoor Country House, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
I wasn't quite sure whether to make a response to this review but over the intervening years several guests have felt a qualification was necessary. Our usual guests are not really the techie types and come for peace and relaxation without doing their "homework" when they get back. Our Guest Book is a better reflection of the general feeling of their stay.

This tome says more about her than us I think. She is obviously a review orientated traveller who enjoys her power. By new age, I can only imagine she means Enya or Norah Jones' music which may have been playing somewhere in the house. Would she rather have heard my Led Zeppelin or Pink Floyd?

I don't understand the "on command" quip but I can only assume she doesn't appreciate a friendly English greeting offering an overview of local ameneties.

Porlock is a fantastically friendly place and we look forward to welcoming anyone who needs to get away for a complete break in stunning surroundings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
0.4 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
168 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
332 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
537 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hunters Lodge B&B
Hunters Lodge B&B
#1 of 18 in Porlock
194 reviews
0.5 mi away
Overstream
Overstream
#6 of 18 in Porlock
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exmoor Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exmoor Country House

Property: Exmoor Country House
Address: Exmoor House Minehead Road, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exmoor Country House Porlock is a fine Georgian period house set in its own scenic grounds within the magnificent Exmoor National Park. All our rooms are furnished and finished to a high standard. Our English breakfasts are cooked to order using the best local produce we can source. We invite guests to relax in our lounge during the day as well as in the evening and offer complimentary drinks and light bites between 6 and 7 every evening. All in all quite stylish! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Exmoor Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor Country House Porlock, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing