We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all in the detail”
Review of The Gables

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gables
Ranked #7 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It's all in the detail”
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Five of us stayed here for two nights for a family wedding. The house itself is delightful and the attention to detail was wonderful. For what was provided we thought it was very good value - en-suite rooms with toiletries and lovely towels (and a towel warmer). Very well furnished with a comfy bed and very good bed-linen, a TV with DVD player and lots of DVDs to choose from. There was a guests lounge with TV, access to the garden and lots of info on the area, where we were offered coffee on arrival. And of course the breakfast - it was more like the standard I would expect from a five star hotel than a B&B. Fantastic choice of fresh fruit, cereals, preserves, yoghurts, and a great choice for cooked breakfast with quality ingredients (including Veggy options) really well cooked. Even the coffee was great (fresh cafetiere) and a choice of different teas. Can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EddyandJane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
117
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

We stayed in the family room for five nights, first impression was that everything was clean and tidy. After a couple of nights we started to notice the attention to detail that they pay to everything here, this is one of the best run B&Bs we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylormaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed just the one night. Everything was perfect - the location, the character of the house, the cleanliness, the friendliness, all the little extra touches. The breakfast was amazing, both in the variety of food and the quantity. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2010

The Gables is a fantastic place to stay and the minute you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. We were shown to our room and then around the house and garden where we were served coffee and biscuits. The room was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed with lots of little extras that made it so special. There were information booklets/maps of the area, books, games and DVD's to borrow should you need them and Sue was happy to chat and give you information about the local area. The breakfast was amazing with choices that would suit everyone (fresh fruit, cereals, yogurts, toast and a huge and delicious full english). The whole house is beautiful and the surrounding area, walks and views take your breath away. This break was booked as a birthday treat which we had to cancel and rearrange and Sue was so accommodating and helpful. Unfortunately we only booked two nights but we hope to go back again in the near future (that's if there are ever any rooms vacant - which I very much doubt!)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornish-jo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2010

The Gables is a wonderful place to stay in Porlock. The house looks so lovely and the rooms are very nice furnitured. Fabulous hospitality, great breakfast, lovely surroundings! We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liketotravel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We spent a wonderful couple of days at The Gables, we really couldn't fault anything. The B&B has been beautifully restored, retaining the original country cottage charm, but with all the modern amenities one could wish for. The room was comfortable and quiet, and the breakfast freshly cooked and delicious. Highly recommended for a visit to one of the most delightful and unspoilt places in England. Well located for Exmoor and the Somerset coast.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swamprocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2010

In all honesty there's not a lot more that can be said about just how excellent this B&B is - it comes with a wealth of recommendations for many good reasons!
But as far as we were concerned this was the last night's stay of 9 days spent walking from the South Devon Coast upto Minehead for our own Coast-to-Coat trek.
The walk was bookended with two fantastic B&Bs - Cadleigh Manor and then the Gables, and both are about as good as you can get from a private lodging in this country - but without paying the earth!
The weather was very poor on the day we rolled into Porlock from Exford which meant we turned up way too early, the owner Sue wasn't around as she was getting provisions, yet her daughter was very hospitable; took us to our beautiful rooms, fetched us tea and biscuits and then showed us the excellent communal sitting/garden room and made sure we were comfortable before popping out to run whatever errand she's had planned before we arrived.
In a nutshell that was representative of the type of 'service' you get at the Gables, nothing is too much trouble or phases them all, and you feel like you are genuinely well received and wanted rather than just being a means to earn a living.
This warm atmosphere might well be enough to rave over, but when you add it to a stunningly beautiful property in a great location in Porlock (which is itself a lovely, if at times rather busy, Somerset coastal village worth several days of anyone's time) which sports huge and ridiculously comfortable and well-appointed rooms, oh and a cooked breakfast of generous and VERY tasty proportions - you can see why so many people rate the Gables so highly.
In a way I'd rather not review it just to try and ensure I could stay there again, but to be honest the cat's already out of the bag on this one so I'll just have to take my chances with everyone else next time I feel like a trip down to this wonderful part of the country....
Thanks to you Sue and family for providing a wonderful last night to a memorable break!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northantsnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
0.1 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hunters Lodge B&B
Hunters Lodge B&B
#1 of 18 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Exmoor Country House
Exmoor Country House
#3 of 18 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.7 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables

Property: The Gables
Address: The Gables Doverhay, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gables 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Grade2 listed Chocolate Box Thatched Cottage in the Exmoor National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Porlock, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing