We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay in Porlock!”
Review of The Gables

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gables
Ranked #6 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2010

The Gables is a wonderful place to stay in Porlock. The house looks so lovely and the rooms are very nice furnitured. Fabulous hospitality, great breakfast, lovely surroundings! We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liketotravel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 221 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2010

We spent a wonderful couple of days at The Gables, we really couldn't fault anything. The B&B has been beautifully restored, retaining the original country cottage charm, but with all the modern amenities one could wish for. The room was comfortable and quiet, and the breakfast freshly cooked and delicious. Highly recommended for a visit to one of the most delightful and unspoilt places in England. Well located for Exmoor and the Somerset coast.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swamprocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

In all honesty there's not a lot more that can be said about just how excellent this B&B is - it comes with a wealth of recommendations for many good reasons!
But as far as we were concerned this was the last night's stay of 9 days spent walking from the South Devon Coast upto Minehead for our own Coast-to-Coat trek.
The walk was bookended with two fantastic B&Bs - Cadleigh Manor and then the Gables, and both are about as good as you can get from a private lodging in this country - but without paying the earth!
The weather was very poor on the day we rolled into Porlock from Exford which meant we turned up way too early, the owner Sue wasn't around as she was getting provisions, yet her daughter was very hospitable; took us to our beautiful rooms, fetched us tea and biscuits and then showed us the excellent communal sitting/garden room and made sure we were comfortable before popping out to run whatever errand she's had planned before we arrived.
In a nutshell that was representative of the type of 'service' you get at the Gables, nothing is too much trouble or phases them all, and you feel like you are genuinely well received and wanted rather than just being a means to earn a living.
This warm atmosphere might well be enough to rave over, but when you add it to a stunningly beautiful property in a great location in Porlock (which is itself a lovely, if at times rather busy, Somerset coastal village worth several days of anyone's time) which sports huge and ridiculously comfortable and well-appointed rooms, oh and a cooked breakfast of generous and VERY tasty proportions - you can see why so many people rate the Gables so highly.
In a way I'd rather not review it just to try and ensure I could stay there again, but to be honest the cat's already out of the bag on this one so I'll just have to take my chances with everyone else next time I feel like a trip down to this wonderful part of the country....
Thanks to you Sue and family for providing a wonderful last night to a memorable break!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northantsnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

We recently spent a short break in this beautiful Bed and Breakfast, The Gables, in the lovely village of Porlock, Somerset, nestled in the beautiful setting of the Exmoor National Park. We usually spend shortbreaks in the Yorkshire Dales, as it's not too far to travel, but since we found this superb Thatched Guest House, with it's wonderful host, Sue, we would not think of going anywhere else!! (and the extra 200 miles is well worth it). The rooms are exceptional - clean and cosy, with good facilities, beautiful bedding and furnishings and roomy en suit. The attention to detail is exceptional. There is use of a lovely, comfy guest lounge, or the peaceful enclosed garden, which fronts this beautiful cottage, where you can sit and just enjoy the peace and quiet of this delightful village. Everything is hassle free and you can come and go as you please. Breakfasts are to die for, with an amazing choice of anything and everything, served by the warm and friendly host, Sue and her lovely daughter Jess. The breakfast room is delightful and the detail is just perfect, from the crisp, white, table linen to the dainty sugar tongs. You will soon realise that a Full English is virtually impossible to eat in one sitting, (for which Toby, the dog is very grateful). This is an ideal place from which to explore the beautiful Exmoor National Park, with many, many walks accessible within walking distance of the guesthouse, or you can go further afield in car, or by a good network of public transport. Many people use it as a base for the Somerset/Devon coastal walks. Sue is a brilliant host, warm friendly and very helpful. Want a taxi - ask Sue... need directions - ask Sue... Access to the internet - it's in the lounge. Want a table booking, yes you've guessed it... nothing is too much trouble... we wouldn't dream of going anywhere else and can't wait to go back..
Thanks Sue..

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwhinnello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

We decided to head down to the somerset coast for my birthday and have a one night stopover,we booked the Gables the day before we left and what a fantastic choice we made.Sue made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived,showing us to our room and then serving coffee and lot's of biscuits in the wonderful garden.Our son Sam didn't know which biscuit to go for first!! Our room was spotlessly clean and spacious,and the king size bed made for a great nights sleep.Breakfast was out of this world,so much choice.If we ever get the chance to return to porlock then The Gables will be the first place i look to book into.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davenamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

I booked this accomodation as the first night of a walking holiday with my wife of the South Coast Path that integrated a charity fund raising effort for MacMillan nurses.
The house, like the village of Porlock, was absolutely stunning. We have rarely stayed anywhere more beautiful.
The host Sue was very welcoming, making us a cup of tea on arrival complete with a tray of biscuits.The room and facilities were clean and comfortable, and Sue recommended our evening meal pub. A superb B&B

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peaceandquiet28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

We just stayed 1 night but it was fantastic. Our large room overlooking the garden with separate attached room for our babies. Clean, peaceful, we could not having more. Wonderful breakfast. Mrs Sue so nice gave us all necessary and helpful information.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ermdia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porlock hotels
0.1 mi away
Rose Bank Guest House
Rose Bank Guest House
#4 of 18 in Porlock
299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Exmoor Country House
Exmoor Country House
#2 of 18 in Porlock
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 18 in Porlock
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glen Lodge
Glen Lodge
#8 of 18 in Porlock
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables

Address: The Gables Doverhay, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range: $87 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gables 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Grade2 listed Chocolate Box Thatched Cottage in the Exmoor National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Porlock, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing