We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic cottage and surroundings”
Review of The Gables

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gables
Ranked #8 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Idyllic cottage and surroundings”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

What a wonderful find this was! We were made very welcome by our friendly and helpful hosts and thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay in a very comfortable room with immaculate facilities and en suite. Overlooking the delightful garden and looking over the thatched roofs was magical. The breakfast, including the room was fabulous - I was even tempted to a 'Full English' (veggie!) which did not disappoint. The food was of a very good quality and cooked to perfection. I just wish I could have fitted in more of the seeded toast and jam!
Thank you for a lovely stay- we intend to be back!

Room Tip: The garden room we had was delightful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angee087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
119
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We've just got back from a lovely week in Vine Cottage. The cottage is lovely, comfortable and well equipped, and I'd definitely recommend it...unless you have a problem with steep stairs! If you go and stay, I'd recommend that you book at least one breakfast in The Gables. I reckon it was one of the best breakfasts we've ever had!
Porlock itself is lovely, very friendly people everywhere, lots of places to eat, and the area is STUNNING!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfrakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

......... everything about this B&B is excellent; bed, bath, breakfast, location, garden view, decor, ambience, friendliness, value - all faultless and even tho' there's no on-site parking, an easily accessed public car-park is less than a minute away. The village is terrific too with lovely walks nearby - spend more than one night.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avagabond52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Gables after a walk from Minehead. The house is beautiful, the rooms are nice and cody. The owners are very nice. Breakfast is delicious. It is centrally located near a supermarket and some nice pubs. It is very quiet.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jmachiels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
398 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

The Gables is truly beautiful. The attention to Detail in the rooms and garden is superb. The rooms are tastefully decorated in a charming way that reflects the age of the building. It has great facilities too - tea/coffee, bottle water and biscuits even down to a really good hair dryer. My room had a vast bathroom with lovely touches such as a large bottle of bubble bath.
The breakfast is terrific with plenty of fresh fruit, a good selection of juices and jams. The toast is very good quality and the full English us huge.
I cannot recommend the Gables enough.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vivacat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I have stayed at many B&B's in Exmoor but this really takes some beating. Lovely owners (Sue and Dave), well decorated, spotlessly clean and a breakfast that is amazing - fresh fruit (lots of it), cereals, loads of jams, marmalades etc and a full fry that is simply wonderful with as much toast, tea/coffee as you want. Stayed with my wife and 2 year old and 4 year old and Sue was so nice, even letting them into the garden with a lovely dog so we could breakfast in peace! Heaven and HUGELY recommended! You won't go wrong here.

Room Tip: Book early, I imagine this will fill quickly and with good reason.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnyjeiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

You won't find a better bed and breakfast than this. It's the most beautiful building in a very picturesque village, breakfast was great, everyone was very friendly and we had a lovely room. It was a great base for some wonderful walking. Highly recommended. .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
0.1 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
169 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
714 reviews
0.2 mi away
Overstream
Overstream
#7 of 18 in Porlock
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hunters Lodge B&B
Hunters Lodge B&B
#1 of 18 in Porlock
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rose Bank Guest House
Rose Bank Guest House
#4 of 18 in Porlock
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables

Property: The Gables
Address: The Gables Doverhay, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gables 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Grade2 listed Chocolate Box Thatched Cottage in the Exmoor National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Hotwire so you can book your The Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Porlock, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing