We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay at The Gables”
Review of The Gables

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gables
Ranked #8 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay at The Gables”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Best B@B ever. Thank you Sue and Dave for a wonderful weekend stay. We had a marvellous stay again Breakfast extremely generous, rooms perfect with plenty of space. Sue and Dave very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
117
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Had another excellent stay at the end of March 2014. Sue was a very welcoming host and made us feel as though we were at home. The Gables is perfectly placed in the centre of Porlock Village and the rooms within in it are clean and spacious, as well as tastefully yet minimally decorated. The breakfast was magnificent and was enough to keep us going for the rest of the day. If a full English is not up to your taste, there is a wide range of cereals and fruits for your choosing and a constant supply of tea and coffee. An excellent value Bed and Breakfast and I would recommend to all. Thanks again to Sue and Dave!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillips-21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Just got back from a weekend stay at The Gables and once again we got five star service. Rooms always presented beautifully, breakfast you couldn't ask for better or more choice and as always made to feel right at home by
Sue and family. Looking forward to our next stay hopefully later on in
the year.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareG1076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This must be one of the best places we have stayed! Fantastic welcome, comfy bed, really lovely decor, and absolutely spotless. Excellent breakfast on top of all that. The house is really lovely and Sue & Dave do a great job. The only downside really..... we could only stay 2 nights!! I would highly recommend this for anyone visiting the area. We will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana_Elliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2014

For my 80th birthday my son and daughter-in-law took me to Porlock where I had lived during the Second World War. They could not have chosen better than "The Gables" to stay. The house is beautiful,the welcome very warm and the breakfasts are to die for! I highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 481Poppymary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We are just on our way back from a fabulous visit to Porlock. We stayed at the Gables B & B and have to say we loved it. Warm welcome, very clean, charming building and to top it off an amazing breakfast! I would definitely recommend it to everyone.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KateandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Gables is a beautiful house just behind the High Street in Porlock. Gorgeous garden, and clean pretty well-appointed rooms that were 'just right'; not too kitsch and sweetly faintly smelling like flowers and the country-side. This B&B embodies all the best England has to offer.
Do not hesistate! You will be warmly welcomed, with wit, a great omelette and restaurant and walking tips.
I was traveling with my female flatmate and we had great laughs, and enjoyed the homely and fun atmosphere. Simply perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porlock hotels
0.1 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Overstream
Overstream
#6 of 18 in Porlock
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hunters Lodge B&B
Hunters Lodge B&B
#1 of 18 in Porlock
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rose Bank Guest House
Rose Bank Guest House
#5 of 18 in Porlock
280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Exmoor Country House
Exmoor Country House
#3 of 18 in Porlock
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables

Property: The Gables
Address: The Gables Doverhay, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gables 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Grade2 listed Chocolate Box Thatched Cottage in the Exmoor National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Porlock, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing