We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Gables
Nearby Hotels
$72
$70
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunkery Beacon Hotel(Wootton Courtenay)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$187
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach Hotel(Minehead)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$175
$140
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$154
$136
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveler rating
220
5
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
220
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvine cottagebeautiful propertyfresh fruitbiscuitsbreakfast was excellentself catering cottagethank you for a lovelylovely gardencooked breakfastsingle bedon arrivalspent nightsfeel very welcomefull englishwarm welcomelittle extraslong journey
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 225 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My wife booked The Gables for our first year Anniversary . I could write an essay on how lovely it was but all I will simply say is you'll find it near impossible to find a B&B better than this one. Thank you for a lovely and memorable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tizzy123x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have stayed here before, a couple of years ago. We gave it 5 stars then and it is just as good as we remembered. Lovely comfortable bedrooms which were immaculate and stylish, with lots of clean white towels, nice toiletries, plenty of tea and coffee making things, plus biscuits, water, squash and so on. Better equipped than most hotels we've stayed at, and we like to stay 5 star. Very nice lounge and breakfast room. The owner is very friendly, accomodating and helpful, and she lays on a wonderful breakfast, with a huge choise of fruit, cereal, local preserves and so on, plus a great cooked breakfast, which lasted us for the day! Cannot fault the Gables and will definitely stay again.
It is in a lovely old thatched cottage in a picturesque village, near the sea and on the edge of Exmoor, so plenty to do and see nearby as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EddyandJane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Best B&B i`ve ever stayed in - fantastic breakfasts, really comfortable bed - what more do you want?? Everything is done to an extremely high standard, from the knapkin rings to the bed linen and towels. And all fittings. Really really good. Deserves the description `firsty class`.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This B&B is flawless in every way. We were pining for a relaxing break on Exmoor and that's exactly what we got! Situated in the charming village of Porlock, The Gables is a stones throw away from a variety of culinary emporiums and stunning countryside walks. As we arrived, we received a very warm welcome from Sue and after unpacking, we were invited to loll in the beautiful garden with a generous pot of tea. Breakfast was an exuberant event, with a delectable spread of cooked and continental fare. What a treat! The room was spotless, the bed was heavenly and the decor was cheerful. We would return at the drop of a hat! Thank you for a lovely relaxing stay.

Room Tip: The adjoining pay and display car park is free from 6pm to 9am. Any money you pay before 6pm is rolled over until the following morning (so paying for 2 hours at 5.15pm will mean you can stay until 10.15am the next day). Alternatively free on-road parking is available up the lane, a short walk from the B&B.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tompkins780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This B & B does an amazingly good breakfast with lots of fresh fruit amongst other goodies.
Sue's cooking is excellent. I highly recommend the cheese omelette. We just had a three-night really relaxing break. Extremely comfortable bedroom overlooking garden. It was lovely and quiet at night...no traffic noise! Also, use of garden room with large screen TV and DVDs and plenty of comfy chairs to sit out in garden. Almost like a small country house hotel. We were even offered refreshment on arrival! Lis Lovett

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elisabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews