We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gables

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Gables
Ranked #7 of 20 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

As we are bed and breakfast owners ourselfs I thought we would be more critical than the average person. But we could not criticise the Gables in any way, the way we were met on arrival the fantastic breakfast,the cleanliness
of the whole place. Would highly recommend the gables to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosslondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
115
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Qualicum Beach BC
Level Contributor
148 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Gables for 5 nights at the beginning of our trip to England. We were welcomed by Sue's daughter who showed us to our lovely room with ensuite over looking the little lane and the gorgeous wisteria vine growing over the front door. We were advised of the breakfast arrangements and where to oark our car. There is no parking on the property, but plenty of spots a short walk away.

Everything was wonderful, we had an excellent night's sleep and the delicious breakfast was adequate until dinner time! The choices were unending and cooked items were prepared from scratch.

The house and gardens are very pretty and we thoroughly enjoyed exploring Porlock and the little villages and towns nearby.

Sue is an excellent host, and we will definitely return here. We are experienced B&B'ers both in Canada, the US and England, and this one is in our top 5. We recommend unequivocally!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Westerham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Gables in Porlock for 2 nights as part of a longer trip around the country. When we arrived we found out that the room we had booked was having problems with it's shower and so we were to be upgraded to the Self Catering Vine Cottage - what a lovely surprise! The cottage had everything we could possibly need and an extremely comfortable bed. The breakfast was fantastic - cooked breakfast both days for hubby but I could only manage the full breakfast one morning (it's huge!), luckily the porridge was good too! The hosts were very friendly (as was labrador Toblerone) and the location perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScrumpyFuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at the end of may but wished it could of been longer,we loved it from start to finish - from the picture postcard thatched cottage & warm welcome, lovely comfy spacious rooms, incredible breakfasts served on vintage china,excellent service and customer care. The Hosts were very accomadating from start to end
We would highly recommend the gables at porlock to all

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetytours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

This has to be one of the best B&B's in the region.The building and garden are charming,the hosts are very friendly and attentive and the room was excellent.The breakfast was similarly excellent, with local ,fresh produce served on lovely Coalport china.
We only stayed one night but could genuinely recommend The Gables for longer stays; we could tell from reading the Welcome Pack that the hosts were keen to ensure your stay was enjoyable (e.g. help dry wet clothes, make packed lunches,even lend a laptop!)
The nightly rate was very reasonable too for a quality B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 51MikeOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights this weekend and in short it's the best B&B.

It looks great from the outside and gets even better inside. Lovely, light and really homely. The garden is so relaxing especially after you have been out for a long walk and want to just chill with a beer.

Sue greeted us as we arrived and made us so welcome but she gets the balance just right - not in your face just there as and if you need her.

Breakfast was the best we have had, locally sourced and perfectly cooked. We ate out at the Ship - good with very large portions, Millers - more expensive but good food and excellent service.

We will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here the bank holiday weekend 3/6th May. The cottage is delightful as are the garden and surrounding area. We ate out in the Village once at the Ship which was nice and then Millers which was ok. The victorian tea room in the small high street was lovely and so were the owners. The breakfast at the Gables was excellent with a great choice from cereal,fruit and cooked food. We thoroughly recommend this place a true jewel in the countryside. The walks and scenery are breathtaking and a visit to Dunster Castle is a must.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyFromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
0.1 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hunters Lodge B&B
Hunters Lodge B&B
#1 of 20 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 20 in Porlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 20 in Porlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Exmoor Country House
Exmoor Country House
#3 of 20 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables

Property: The Gables
Address: The Gables Doverhay, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gables 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Grade2 listed Chocolate Box Thatched Cottage in the Exmoor National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Porlock, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing