We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful cheese/deli shop and tea room”
Review of The Big Cheese

The Big Cheese
Ranked #6 of 8 Coffee & Tea in Porlock
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout
Description: Cheesemonger and Delicatessen
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Delightful cheese/deli shop and tea room”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stopped in Porlock on an afternoon outing, looking around the small village we came across The Big Cheese Shop, decided to have a pot of tea for two and cake,but instead we had a cheese and potato pasty and a traditional pasty, both came with cider relish,very tasty. We also bought some local cheeses and pickle onions to enjoy later. We had very good service from the sales lady.
We would go back again and on our experience we would recommend.
Rose and Peter
Australia

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RoseRRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    11
    2
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Apart from being a superb Cafe Deli come shop, I have to say that the food was just brilliant. The Ham on the ploughman's platter was the tastiest thing ever, the homemade Pork pie was tasty and to top it all the Cheese tasting plate was a delight!! The staff were welcoming and the service precise. I would recommend taking time to enjoy the home produced foods!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 956JohnClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockenhurst, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just like other reviews: terrible, unhelpful service”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

And what a pity... this could be a nice little regular haunt in a lovely village, and has great potential. However, will not be going back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank DZC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmarthen
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our experience”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Rude and unhelpful: nice cheese, but wouldn't go there again. Served by a male, not the female mentioned in other reviews

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahjaneCarmarthen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Where was John Cleese?”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We had hoped to obtain a light lunch at about 1.30 PM on Saturday 7 December 2013. There were three of us and by the time the lady behind the counter came to serve us, we were the only people in the shop.

Her manner was most unhelpful and bordering on rude when she told us that because she was short handed she only had limited ingredients available and if anybody else came in we would have to wait whilst she served them. She clearly did not want to prepare any of the menu items for us and did nothing whatsoever to make us feel in the least bit welcome, so we left taking (we estimate) £50 of custom with us - a triumph for "small business day"!

I know that Monty Python Flying Circus is making a come back and that they have a sketch about a cheese shop that has run out of cheese but this was ridiculous and made Fawlty Towers look five star. If you own the shop and your takings are down, no wonder.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thexec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Big Cheese also viewed

Porlock, Exmoor National Park
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Big Cheese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing