We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value for Money”
Review of Lorna Doone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lorna Doone Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Porlock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2008

An excellent value for money stay.
June saw us return for our fifth visit and again it
was most enjoyable with good rooms, excellent
food and a real 'home from home' atmosphere.
You are warmly welcomed by a great staff, and the
owner Toni is always on hand for advice and a
friendly chat. Couldn't ask for more from a hotel
I shall again be returning in September.
A lovely area of Britain, a lovely village in which to
wander, and a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Nostalgiaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 183 of 183 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2008

We have returned from our stay at the Lorna Doone, with wonderful memories of the comfortable bedrooms, excellent cuisine, and adorable friendliness of the staff and shopkeepers of Porlock. Nothing is too much trouble for the attentive hotel owner Toni, and at quiet times of the year in Porlock, as it was when we were there this time, means she seems to be always on hand for advice on where to go, or things to do! You are very centrally placed staying at the Lorna Doone, whether just shop window gazing in Porlock or venturing further afield for walking or sight-seeing around west Somerset or north Devon.

With one short-lived break in the unusually wet weather when we were there we managed to take over 200 photographs of the beautiful Exmoor scenery mostly in sunshine, which means we can now treasure these memories for ever at home! We plan to return to the Lorna Doone, several times this year (2008) to record more photographic memories of Exmoor through the seasons. When I learn how, I will post some of our photos on here!

Being a smallish family-run hotel with encouraging signs of some regular visitors returning at intervals, means there are likely to be other guests staying offering good entertaining company after evening meals, and providing current ideas on what they had enjoyed in the locality. Never a dull moment seems to be the hotel's motto!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank collegegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2007

Have been staying at the Lorna Doone hotel at least annually for almost the last 20 years with my young family as they grew up.

Hotel rooms are limited in Porlock at busy times so we were delighted to have found the consistency of having the same owners of this small hotel who welcomed us back each time.

Toni Thornton is a superb chef who has travelled the world during the quieter winter months learning new cooking skills (notably Thai), which she now presents in her own restaurant alongside the traditional English dishes.

I can thoroughly recommend this hotel; it cannot be 5 star accommodation in this beautiful rural area, but you will almost certainly be away from the hotel all day anyway enjoying the delights of Exmoor, so a comfortable bed and welcoming staff when you return exhausted, with wonderful food is much appreciated.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank manrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank siViaggiaInDue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
6.8 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
741 reviews
10.5 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
129 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
137 reviews
6.8 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunster
202 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorna Doone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorna Doone Hotel

Address: High Street, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Porlock
Price Range: $81 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lorna Doone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lorna Doone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorna Doone Hotel Porlock, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing