We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal of the holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Culbone

The Culbone
Ranked #4 of 20 Restaurants in Porlock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Relax and unwind while you enjoy the stunning views from our peaceful bedrooms, and outside dining area. The seasonal views of the Valley and Moors are breathtaking (the coastal mist adds real magic to the landscape). Lush green in the spring and summer and full of character and action in autumn and winter. Partridge, pheasant and deer are our companions in the milder months. Staying at The Culbone is a great way to experience life on Exmoor.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best meal of the holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

After asking around all holiday for a great place to eat seafood on our final night, The Culbone seemed like the place to go. It is set isolated near the top of a picturesque heather-covered moor, and has lots of parking. The interior is smartly decorated, but any sense of pretense is put aside by a big sign saying dogs and wellies welcome by the window. Our dogs were greeted at the door by our waitress. From my understanding the restaurant offers different specialities each day. The seafood night that we went to was on a Friday. The restaurant was packed, and booking before is strongly advised. The staff were on the verge of being stretched, but their friendliness more than made up for this. We started off by sharing 2 generous portions of whitebait, served simply with on a hot slate with a homemade tartare sauce and lemon wedge. Delicious. My sister opted for spider crab for main, while my step dad went for rock crab. Both were very fresh (caught that morning), and served with tasty bread and paprika aioli. At around £13 for a hefty bit of crab, no complaints can be made in terms of value either. My mum gave me half of her panko breadcrumb crusted lemon sole and homemade thin chips. We ate a lot of fish and chips during the holiday; this was in a league of its own. I had roasted king prawns flavoured with chilli and lemon, again served with the delicious paprika aioli as well as a slice of toast. The desserts looked wonderful, but the dogs were getting restless, so we had to leave. I will be coming back next time I am in Exmoor.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone, responded to this review, January 3, 2015
Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    82
    29
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Dog friendly but limited menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Best thing about this place is you can take dogs in, it's a very well presented place and service was v good but...

Disappointingly, they seemed to have run out of half the options on offer, no savingon blanc, no balsamic and oil for the olives, no rump steak, no mash!

We had the olives anyway which were brought out with nice bread but we had to ask for butter to replace the balsamic oil. Opted for the ribeye and gammon, the ribeye was v good but the homemade chips were really dry. Gammon was very meager for the price, again served with a pile of chips but pretty dry. It was ok, but for the price overall it was disappointing.

Fish cake starters were pretty good though. Probably wasnt worth the drive out (or £20 taxi). There are just as nice places in porlock town.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JudyPen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We ate here 4 times last year whilst staying at the old schoolhouse,the food is excellent and you can even take your dog in.friendly staff good wine list and the lemon cheesecake to die for..we are revisiting the schoolhouse this sept and are looking forward to more excellent food again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lunch high on Exmoor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Excellent lunch, sat outside although even with dogs we could have gone inside. The view outside is outstanding, you can clearly see more than any other pub on Exmoor I suspect. Food was good, we had just sandwiches but we go regularly and every time they seem to have a different offering. Quality is excellent and although I was just expecting sandwich as per menu it also came with large bowl of chips. Service good and waitress stopped for chat and asked how the walking was, seemed genuine interest. A few years ago we considered the Culbone a little pricy, no more we paid well under £20 for two pints, two superb sandwiches and chips. Its rare we eat at lunch for that sort of price.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“birthday meal”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We were a group of 13 celebrating a very special lady's 90th birthday this Sunday lunchtime.She had requested a roast dinner, but the choice was limited to lamb or beef, no pork or poultry. They had enough of each for half of us, and so some had to take beef as the lamb was more popular. Sadly the beef was too tough to cut with a knife, let alone chew, and so most of it was taken home for pets. The roast potatoes were hard & cold, and the swede was a mixture of lumps & mash. Sadly the lady celebrating her birthday was bitterly disappointed & ate virtually nothing. What a poor effort, and not good enough at any price.

Helpful?
2 Thank Janice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Culbone also viewed

Porlock, Exmoor National Park
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Culbone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing