We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well done to these great hosts!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Whortleberry Tea Rooms

The Whortleberry Tea Rooms
Ranked #1 of 8 Coffee & Tea in Porlock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Well done to these great hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

We had our dog with us so sat in the garden. Steve an ex wormwood scrubs prison officer greeted us and even had some biscuits for the dog. He has some great stories and really made us feel welcome. They have a fantastic cafe. I spied a lot of the food that came out and it all looked and smelt very good. We had a cream tea, with the biggest mound of clotted cream and the famous Whortleberry jam. the scones were huge and really delicious, they even have gluten free scones. nice little touches like topping up the tea pot went down well. Will definitely re-visit and eat a bit more of their food.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dinitheblini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    22
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best tea rooms ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

We came across the quaint tea rooms on a Sunday morning when we were searching for a place to get breakfast after a night under canvas. The tea room was intimate and very comfortable. The staff we really friendly and helpful and the food and drink were delicious. The service was efficient and we even got our pots of tea replaced for free. We were so happy with the tea rooms and their menu that we returned later that day for lunch and a cream tea - the best scones, cream and whortleberry jam combination! Big recommendation if you are in the Porlock area!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Becki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“nice and friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

nice little tea room the people who run it were friendly and cheerful. We had tea, coffee and two teacakes came to £6.90 I think. They did also offer refills on tea and coffee.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank patsy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“New Owners - Still Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

We had a lovely lunch at the Whortleberry Tea Rooms. The garden at the back is compact but comfortable. The owners, Steve and Anne, are very friendly and chatty. The food was good quality, freshly prepared with good sized portions and great value. Highly recommended if you are in the vicinity of Porlock. Note that the Whortleberry Tea Rooms website is out of date, as the previous owner has not yet passed on the domain name.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank herecomesbrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wow scones to die for!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

The cream tea was delicious, the scones were the best I have ever eaten. I had a lovely ham sandwich on really fresh bread and tried the whortleberry chutney, I tried the whortleberry jam on my scones and the flavours were so different! The staff were exceptionally friendly and even gave our 2 doggies bonios while we ate our meal. Very highly recommended

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank joatters42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Whortleberry Tea Rooms also viewed

Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Whortleberry Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing