We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

The Whortleberry Tea Rooms
Ranked #1 of 7 Coffee & Tea in Porlock
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Lovely breakfast excellent value for money and a very warm welcome. The tea room opens at 8.30am were the other eating places do not open until 10am. Ideal if you are passing through, walking or camping in this area. Will be going back for more. The tea rooms are situated by the Top ship inn and the visitors centre. The owners deserve to do well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    22
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Cute and Charming”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

A charming little tearoom serving the finest teas, sandwiches and cakes. A full breakfast is served in the morning cooked exactly to your liking.
Easy to miss, if you are driving down this steep hill in Porlock, but there is it at the less busy end of the High Street. Worth checking out, you will find the owners pleasant, helpful, and with a great sense of humour.
We are so glad that we came across this little gem.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We almost missed this tea-room yesterday, but so glad we found it had a lovely courtyard.
From the main street it looked a little dark inside, but the courtyard certainly made up for it, and the food was all really fresh and home-made. My daughter had a tuna/sweetcorn sandwich, which was a hand cut loaf with a huge filling, my husband had a ploughmans which was worth every penny, and I had a cream tea with beautiful home-made whortleberry jam and scones, all very filling, great quality, and not expensive, with a huge range of teas and coffees too. The owners were also really friendly, which does make a difference, as in the past we have visited other local tea rooms and they almost make you feel as though you are putting them out.
We were staying in Butlins, but always make a point of visiting this beautiful village.
I urge you to try this wonderful tea room you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HelmarkCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Popped in here for breakfast and so glad we did. A full English cooked to perfection with hot drink for under £5 - a bargain. The new owners are very friendly. We will be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 447Sammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spur of the moment.”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We visited Porlock this morning after trying out a new bus time table. It was a little nippy so decided to visit the tea room as we had been there before & been satisfied. Today's cream tea which we could have shared was absolutely gorgeous & the wortleberry jam as good as always. Best wishes to the new owners.Cracking home made scones best in a long while.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bizzielizzie240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Whortleberry Tea Rooms also viewed

Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Whortleberry Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing