We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“centrally located in lovely village”
Review of Reines House B&B

Reines House B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Reines House B&B
Ranked #15 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Winchester, England
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“centrally located in lovely village”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stopped here when walking the South Coast Footpath. We were given a warm welcome and an excellent breakfast. The room overlooked the beautiful church of Porlock and the house is ideally located on a quiet road away from the main traffic. Furnishings were all new and the bathroom to a very high standard.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Currently rated 13 of 18 B&B's in Porlock. All I can say is that the quality locally must be high.

Reines House is centrally located in Porlock, next to the church. The room I had was comfortable and tastefully decorated. I got a good nights sleep and a lovely breakfast next morning.

I enjoyed my stay and would definitely return if I was in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Groucho58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Reines House in the heart of Porlock was a perfect overnight stay and would definitely return with husband for walking holidays on Exmoor. Michael & Linda keep an immaculately clean, relaxed and thoughtfully appointed home with great attention to detail. Breakfast was perfect, room was small but perfect, bathroom perfect and truly excellent value for money. They know the area well as Michael was born locally. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great place location, right in the middle of the village, with views of the church. Our room was a nicely furnished, clean and a good size. The rooms are good value for money, compared to others in the village.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a great b&b. We had a lovely room overlooking the church, it was spotlessly clean and the bed was comfortable. Tasty breakfast with good portion and friendly owners. Easy stroll to one of the pubs in the village. Highly recommended.....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Centrally located in charming Porlock. Not directly at the main road, so located very peacefully and quiet! 2-5 minutes walking distance to nice pubs.
The rooms are comfortable, clean, well kept and it is not overpriced as some other B&Bs. Really good value! The owners are very friendly, the breakfast room is nice and the typical Full English breakfast is served and very delicious. Absolutely recommendable!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swobbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Spent a couple of days here while walking SWCP with husband and friends. The place is very walker friendly, spotlessly clean, comfy beds, loads of hot water, helpful hosts and the place is bang in the centre of the village. Fresh fruit and yoghurt as well as the usual full English breakfast. Although our first floor rooms were fine, some of the rooms may be a bit on the smaller side for two people but that's not uncommon in this part of the world. Also they don't overcharge for single occupancy so that's another reason to recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front if you are a couple, they seem to be bigger though the prospect of tombs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porlock hotels
0.0 mi away
Overstream
Overstream
#6 of 18 in Porlock
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hunters Lodge B&B
Hunters Lodge B&B
#1 of 18 in Porlock
194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Lodge
Glen Lodge
#4 of 18 in Porlock
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Exmoor Country House
Exmoor Country House
#3 of 18 in Porlock
136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rose Bank Guest House
Rose Bank Guest House
#5 of 18 in Porlock
280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reines House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reines House B&B

Property: Reines House B&B
Address: Parson Street, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Reines House B&B Porlock, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing