We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the best bits of all the best B&Bs”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amberton Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 17 Porlock B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Amberton is hard to fault. If you had a list of all the things you would want if you had designed the perfect B&B this would probably come pretty close to that. Perfect lofty views from your own covered balcony, decent shower, decent bed, a useful kitchenette and all the trimmings. The trimmings include; freshly baked loaf of bread, freshly squeezed orange and a hearty continental breakfast left outside your door at your chosen time. Not to forget the unlimited supply of fresh coffee, tea, biscuits and probably anything else you'd care to ask for. If you are into walking there are some truly classic woodland or moor walks right from the door. Otherwise if you want to chill, just sit back and enjoy the lovely clean rooms and great service. 5 Star B&B all the way...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MindvisionDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 92 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2012

What a great place to stay, plenty of walking from the door down to the sea or up into the hills of Exmoor. The room was spotless and the food was great. We could sit outside and eat under cover over looking Porlock and the the sea. We took our bikes so we could explore more of Exmoor and the local villages which were stunning. The little lanes were quite and safe to cycle with plenty of byways or bridal ways to use. We would recommend Amberton to any of our family and friends. Just try it, it will not disappoint.

Room Tip: Read the reviews if they are good you should be on to a winner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Have just returned home after a fantastic stay here courtesy of a Xmas present from our daughter and son in law. We both agree it is the best place we have stayed in North Devon and we have stayed in many many places over the last 20 years. It is almost our 2nd home. Wendy is the most fantastic hostess, there just when you need her to be! We arrived back from a 5 mile walk, soaking wet, dripping I think the word was. We had a super shower made a cuppa and Wendy came along with a lovely warm maple pecan cake, perfect. The room was spotless, had everything you needed and more, the little touches are everywhere. We had birdsong right through our stay. WE WILL RETURN!! Thankyou so much.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NiV0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Having read the wonderful reviews from previous guests Amberton had a lot to live up to. However all expectations were more than surpassed! Thank you Wendy for a perfect Easter weekend - the best B n B we've stayed in by far!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MnJWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Little more to say really; fantastic rooms in striking modern house overlooking the village. Little kitchen, all sorts of extras, foods...really wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

First class location, breathtaking views, excellent facilities and wonderful hostess, nothing much more to say... unfortunately we only stayed for one night on route to Cornwall, we found the experience absolutely delightful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Peace quiet yet a few steps away from good Pubs and restuarants. Country walks right from the door. Accommodation and fittings first class,Wendy welcomed us as though we had met her on many occasions so well organised and quietly efficient well done!. Don't forget to take a torch (provided in your room) if you come back from the pub on a really dark night without it the last few yards from the road to the property become very entertaining!.You can of course drive door to door. Lin & Roy Matthews Dorset.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank royston m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porlock hotels
0.4 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#8 of 17 in Porlock
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 17 in Porlock
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rose Bank Guest House
Rose Bank Guest House
#3 of 17 in Porlock
300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glen Lodge
Glen Lodge
#7 of 17 in Porlock
140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Exmoor Country House
Exmoor Country House
#2 of 17 in Porlock
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amberton Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amberton Bed and Breakfast

Address: Amberton Hawkcombe, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range: $84 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Amberton Bed And Breakfast Porlock, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing