We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely weekend”
Review of Myrtle Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Myrtle Cottage
Ranked #2 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another lovely weekend”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We have recently enjoyed another two night stay at this fantastic venue. Myrtle Cottage has become our B&B of choice when looking to explore this part of the country. Our hosts are very friendly and welcoming and the breakfast is superb. In fact, much of the produce for the breakfast is sourced from within the village. We're already planning our holidays for 2014 and will be definitely be making a return trip to Porlock.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
107
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Nigel & Janet who run Myrtle Cottage could not have been more helpful, They advised of walks nearby and lent us their own maps, they also recommended local establishments for dinner which were excellent

The accommodation was spotlessly clean and tidy, they have spent a lot of time and effort since they took over Myrtle cottage.
Nigel's breakfast was fantastic and nothing was too much trouble.
We look forward to staying again

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChrisAndAlex2414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Another lovely weekend has been spent at Myrtle Cottage. Janet and Nigel are so welcoming as hosts and the breakfasts are the perfect start to the day.
The cottage is beautiful and the beds have the comfiest pillows. Will definitely be back for another visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairemaycock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Myrtle Cottage is set in the lovely village of Porlock, surrounding by countryside, the sea and fresh air. There are countless walks, the local pubs (try the Proper Job) and cake shops.

We visited Myrtle Cottage as a group of 8 with 3 children. The rooms are clean, well laid out and functional. Given the age of the build the rooms have some interesting features to them, but without them it wouldn't be the quaint place it is.

Nigel and Janet are fabulous hosts; inviting, accommodating, friendly and down right fun. Don't forget about Max, their loving canine.

A great trip and a wonderful place to stay. Cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCCCCCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Had a very warm welcome to Myrtle cottage on a drizzly November day. A great night's sleep in the comfy room and delicious breakfast that set us up nicely for our Sunday walk. Janet's marmalade was fabulous. Both Nigel and Janet were very welcoming and helpful with advice on the local area. Would definitely recommend Myrtle Cottage to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Myrtle cottage. We really appreciated the warm welcome and offer of a hot drink after our long day of walking. Janet and Nigel and their really cute dog were really friendly and welcoming and took an interest in all of their guests. The choice of breakfast was great and really yummy! Of the 5 different b&b's we stayed in during our vacation myrtle cottage was the most charming, both the building and the owners, and the least expensive. Definitely worth staying with them in Porlock!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guillaume B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We arrived at Myrtle Cottage having walked from Minehead along the coast path on a day when we saw 9 rainbows; it goes without saying that we were a little cold and damp! The welcome quickly warmed us and Nigel took care of our wet gear. The cottage has great character and Nigel and Janet are the perfect hosts as they have the right balance of honest open friendliness without being overbearing in any way. Janet’s breakfast was great setting us up for the walk to Lynton and Nigel’s advice as to the first part of the route was spot on. We wouldn’t hesitate to stay at Myrtle cottage again and will recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi_and_Bryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
0.0 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hunters Lodge B&B
Hunters Lodge B&B
#1 of 18 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#7 of 18 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rose Bank Guest House
Rose Bank Guest House
#5 of 18 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.6 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 18 in Porlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Cottage

Property: Myrtle Cottage
Address: High Street, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Myrtle Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the picturesque village of Porlock, where Exmoor meets the sea, Myrtle Cottage is a comfortable thatched cottage built over 400 years ago which is bursting with character and charm, beams, inglenook fireplaces and real fires.Enjoy a generous breakfast of homemade fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, fruit juice, cereals and a full English Breakfast (using Exmoor's best quality locally sourced bacon, sausages and free range eggs) or maybe something a little lighter; smoked salmon and scrambled eggs or toasted crumpets as well as homemade marmalade, local jams and honey - even the coffee is roasted right here in the village!All rooms have colour TV, Radio/alarm and Tea and Coffee making facilities. Hair driers, Free WIFI and Central Heating. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Myrtle Cottage Porlock, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing