We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely couple of days”
Review of Myrtle Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Myrtle Cottage
Ranked #2 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Me and my girfriend recently got back from a lovely couple of days away at this charming bed and breakfast. Myrtle Cottage is a beautiful, characterful building that sits centrally within the quaint village of Porlock. A great room, great breakfast in a great place. We had a very comfortable stay made even more so by hosts Nigel and Janet and we will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 241 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

A beautiful Jacobean cottage in a village location on the edge of Exmoor and the sea. Perfect! Our friendly hosts made us and our toddler very welcome and the room was pristine. We had two delicious breakfasts there which set us up perfectly for the rest of the day. The sausages in particular come recommended by our daughter :-)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigChad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Porlock is a beautiful place and Myrtle cottage is warm, charming and most of all relaxing. We stayed two nights with a very active two year old. We could not have been made more welcome. The family room is clean bright and comfortable. It has masses of storage space - room for toys, books and an immaculate travel cot. Everything is great order and with lots of little nooks and crannies. The breakfasts are filling, well-cooked and nutritious. Janet and Nigel are gracious hosts and they genuinely take care of you such providing a weather report every morning and fresh coffee on arrival. My advice might be book in advance because I can see this place being very full in the summer. Really nice stay.

Room Tip: A travel cot can be provided so just ask for in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sara1459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

What a wonderful place! Very family friendly. Janet and Nigel were lovely and made us feel very welcome. Delicious breakfast and a very good selection too. Local products included! The family room was delightful with huge box of toys for the children to play with. We highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Porlock or surroundings.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Preetal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Only stayed one night but Nigel and Janet made us feel so welcome. The room was very comfortable. The breakfast was extremely well cooked and there was a full selection of cereals, fresh fruits and yoghurts available. We would thoroughly recommend this to anyone wishing to stay in Porlock.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We have stayed in many B&B's over the years but none better than Myrtle Cottage. Porlock is of course a beautiful village and this cottage in the heart is stunning from outside and superbly equipped and spotlessly clean inside. Nigel & Janet are wonderful hosts who looked after our every need...and served up a wonderful breakfast. In top of all that - it is fantastic value.

What a find!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Myrtle Cottage is a beautiful character filled thatched cottage situated in the pretty village of Porlock. Hosts Nigel and Janet gave us a friendly welcome and we were made to feel right at home in their comfortable house. Breakfasts were fabulous - good local produce is used and the Miles coffee was fab. We had to buy some from the local store to take home! If you are walkers - there is plenty on your doorstep. The Ship Inn is a few steps up the road and we enjoyed it so much that we ate there both nights - good casked ales and wonderful food. Will we be back? You bet! Look forward to a visit in the Spring. Keep up the brilliant work Janet and Nigel :)

Room Tip: Room (#2) was well appointed, it is on the road side but was quiet. Good parking on site too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiB2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porlock hotels
0.1 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 18 in Porlock
73 reviews
0 mi away
Rose Bank Guest House
Rose Bank Guest House
#4 of 18 in Porlock
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Exmoor Country House
Exmoor Country House
#3 of 18 in Porlock
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#5 of 18 in Porlock
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Cottage

Address: High Street, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range: $35 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Myrtle Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the picturesque village of Porlock, where Exmoor meets the sea, Myrtle Cottage is a comfortable thatched cottage built over 400 years ago which is bursting with character and charm, beams, inglenook fireplaces and real fires.Enjoy a generous breakfast of homemade fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, fruit juice, cereals and a full English Breakfast (using Exmoor's best quality locally sourced bacon, sausages and free range eggs) or maybe something a little lighter; smoked salmon and scrambled eggs or toasted crumpets as well as homemade marmalade, local jams and honey - even the coffee is roasted right here in the village!All rooms have colour TV, Radio/alarm and Tea and Coffee making facilities. Hair driers, Free WIFI and Central Heating. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Myrtle Cottage Porlock, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing