We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Myrtle Cottage
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Porlock
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Dunkery Beacon Hotel(Wootton Courtenay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marston Lodge Hotel(Minehead)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kildare Lodge(Minehead)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Kingsway Hotel(Minehead)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach Hotel(Minehead)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveler rating
238
8
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
8
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnigel janetb bperfect hostsmade us feelattic roomhomemade marmaladedelicious breakfastthe south west coast pathtwo singlestwo nightswarm welcomelocal jamsa wonderful place to stayfamily roomlook forwardnothing is too much troublecup of tea
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 247 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We rocked up and booked a room here last minute, Sue was most accommodating and let us view the room before committing to staying. She talked us through everything and then left us to it, we felt we had great privacy here.

Our room was cosy, small bathroom but that goes with the type of building it is, and if you dont mind cosy this would be a great place to stay. Fab for the money, just £55 for our double ensuite room and breakfast which was lovely and Sue was very kind to remake me some toast after I requested it be toasted more!

I have no qualms about recommending this delightful cottage as a comfy place to stay while you explore Porlock and neighbouring beauty spots.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

What a fabulous characterful thatched cottage right in the hub of the village! The hosts were delightful, beds very comfortable - and a very delicious breakfast !! x

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank Josephine49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed at Myrtle Cottage with our 2 kids for 3 nights in room 5 just under the eaves. The cottage has a really homey feeling and the hosts were ever ready to help us without being intrusive at all. Really comfortable beds, delicious breakfast, we all enjoyed the time spent there and would definitely recommend a stay at Myrtle cottage (not for giants though!). Porlock seems to be the best place for a visit around Exmoor.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kjcks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

At Myrtle Cottage we received an excellent level of hospitality without any suffocating attention. Our hosts were unobtrusive yet ever ready to help when we needed it. They had an excellent knowledge of the area and a very well-stocked array of pamphlets and maps for a multitude of local holiday activities for all ages. The cottage is cosy and one room is tucked under the eaves (mind your head!), another up a quirky staircase. The rooms are well-equipped and immaculately clean. Hot water was plentiful. We enjoyed the delicious and robust full English breakfast and found our dinners at one of several restaurants just a short stroll down the main street. Myrtle Cottage is very conveniently located in the heart of Porlock and within easy walking distance of the sea and coastal paths.

Room Tip: If you're tall, you might want to avoid the little room under the eaves.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annamagnussen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Myrtle cottage is in the heart of Exmoor and the price is unbelievably good value. It is close to the shopping town of Minehead, beautiful coasts, great English countryside, and the quaint harbour of Porlock weir. What you get for your stay is an amazing breakfast with an array of choice from full English, to gorgeous local jams and honey. I very much recommend the kippers! Tea making facilities and biscuits replenished everyday, as well as fresh towels. Lovely clean bathrooms, sky TV on modern flat TV's, and great overall facilities. We stayed over a very snowy and cold period during the winter and I cannot say how amazing the value is here for this gorgeously warm, cosy cottage which was perfect to come home to from a snowy Exmoor walk. I love it, and will return every year so long as the owners keep it as beautiful and charming as it is now. No one could ever say a bad word against Myrtle cottage.

Room Tip: The attic room has a lovely view of Wales twinkling at night, and a cosy place to sit and relax.
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews