We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub”
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ship Inn
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Great historic pub, very friendly and helpful staff - good choice of beers/cider, food is good & warm atmosphere from locals & visitors. Our clear first choice for drinking in Porlock - although the Millers bistro/pub/hotel is better for people watching on a warm day!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 117 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

I booked at the Ship Inn as their price was considerably lower than many other places (£40 per night for a single room inc breakfast). When I called, they only had a family room available for the 2 nights I wanted at £80 per night. However they pointed out that, if I were willing to move room I could book a double room for one night and a twin room the following night, which I did.

The decor and fabric of the building was a little tired, in particular the carpets. However, the staff were very helpful and friendly. They left a small bottle of wine as a welcome in the room (on both days!) which was a nice touch.

Despite it being within a pub/hotel, it was very quiet (apart from kicking out time when there was about 5 minutes of noise as people left, but that was all). It is well situated within the town and easy for access to other areas of Porlock.

I didn't try the restaurant, but breakfast was a good standard Full English.

I would efinitely stay there again if the rates were the same.

Room Tip: The rooms are all very similar, so no preferences
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We have visited both The Top Ship (Porlock) and The Bottom Ship (Porlock Weir) on many occasions, to have a meal or just a drink. To be honest we cannot fault it, the service has always been good, friendly, they sell good real ale and "proper" cider and the food has always been tasty and plentiful. They also welcome your four legged friend which is a bonus for us.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themoonsSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Would give the pub 4 and the restaurant 3. Food not that exciting which was a shame - my partner's veal was overcooked and my veggie main course wasn't great. I won't be rushing back to the restaurant but would more than happy to go back for a drink in the pub.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Anita1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

stayed at the ship inn porlock for one night last week. thankfully just one night. first impressions as you walk from the car park down the steps towards the inn are that the building with the glass window on the left has been left to fall down. when we entered the bar and were shown upstairs to our room it looked like the stairway had been used as a dog grooming parlour, steps covered in dog hair. carpet on landing was worn and had a dirty path down the middle. the bedroom smelled of dirty socks, decor was well dated, en suite had no window or extractor fan and the shower had a shower curtain, please, i know its an old building but this place needs a serious makeover. never ever again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank guest43567u8i90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed at the Top Ship in Dec 2011 and returned in Jan 2012. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff are very friendly. The food is good and reasonably priced, but the vegetarian options are limited. Both Friday nights that we were there were busy, so it is worth booking in advance if you intend to eat.
As has been mentioned in other reviews, dogs are very welcome and are allowed in the rooms.
I would recommend the Top Ship.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KernowDeskadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

On Friday 21st Oct tried to find a place to eat with elderly parents and two dogs, and had not thought to book. The Ship in Porlock Weir was full but on the way back we stopped to see if the Top Ship in Porlock High Street could help, and luckily they could, seating us somewhere that they normally would not allow dogs, and luckily the table next to us did not mind. The staff were lovely, ditto the food and it was a very reasonable price. We will be back in the area in May 2012, with friends and will definately be returning to eat.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank AJW39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
0.0 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
183 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
742 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
90 reviews
1.6 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
565 reviews
0.0 mi away
Overstream
Overstream
#5 of 18 in Porlock
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Address: High Street, Exmoor National Park, Porlock, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Porlock
Price Range: $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Ship Inn Porlock, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing