We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful staff!”
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ship Inn
Certificate of Excellence
salisbury
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff!”
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Have just returned from a couple of days at The "Top" Ship. The room was very clean but slightly let down by the fact that the shower wasnt working. They helpfully offered us the key to the next door room and allowed us full use of that bathroom. We ate in the restaurant on the first evening. The food was great and the staff helpful. The breakfast both mornings was fabulous, hot, clean, well-prepared, great sausages and lovely coffee. The best bit though was returning to the pub after an extra loing walk (we went wrong!) to discover that they had stopped serving lunch. The lovely staff that were on duty made us the best Bacon, Brie and Cranberry Baguettes that I think I have even eaten.....even better than mine and I'm a chef!!! When we checked out a day early, a lovely chap ran over to the car park to say that we had accidently been charged for a third night and could we please come back in for a refund! Very much recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janiedelang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    43
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
18
64
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Rented a cottage up the road from the Ship Inn, so it was handy for afternoons in the pub by the fire and reading the papers. Very dog friendly so you can take your four legged friend in for a few hours. They provide a drinking bowl if required. There is a nice little collection of military antiques in the lounge area, and the whole place has a welcoming feel. Nice to see a pub where taking your hound in is actively encouraged. I didn't think it smelt of dog-i've been in place round the world that most definately did smell of human!!
Food was very good and reasonably priced, and the wine selection was actually pretty up to speed too. If you are staying in the village, then this is the place to sink a couple of pints and swing a lantern. Gets busy some nights, but service was efficient all the same.
Happy days.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WINGSANDKAREN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
114 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Stayed for a weekend. Great food and drinks, can complain about that at all. However, the accommodation is very tired and not very clean at all.
The bar areas are busy and people with dogs use it frequently, there are plenty of dog water bowls dotted around for them too.
The overall aroma is not that of good food but of dog. If you do not like dogs or are allergic to them then this is not the place fo you. The Bottom Ship in Porlock Weir is the sister pub and very similar to the Top ship.
A shame because with some TLC and elbow grease this pub could be a stunner

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peanutsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We didn't stay at The Ship Inn, but we ate here a view times during our stay in Porlock in september 2007 and 2008. The 'Ship's ciabatta burger' and the Sunday roast are only two examples of their excellent food.
The friendly service and a nice selection of beers make the Ship Inn one of best places to eat in Porlock.

Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rolymops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2010

We didn't stay at The Ship Inn (aka. Top Ship) but we ate here twice during our stay in Porlock - it was so good the first time that we had to go back! I tried the lasagna and the 'Ship's ciabatta burger', both of which were excellent. Portions are generous and the meat is perfectly cooked. My partner is vegetarian and he had the 'chestnut and spinach mille feuille' which he enjoyed so much he had it twice, which is very unlike him!

Although we were very full after the first course we couldn't resist pudding on our second visit, and we were not disappointed!

The atmosphere is cosy and the pub can get busy, even on weeknights (we went on a Thursday and almost every table in the bar was taken!) The service is good, although it can be a little slow during busy periods.

We also visited the Top Ships' sister pub (The Bottom Ship) during our stay, which is located just down the road at Porlock Weir. The meal here was also good but we think the Top Ship just nudged it. The lunches looked good here and I would certainly recommend it to anyone walking through the area.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alibaahbaah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porlock, Somerset
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2010

I can only comment on the pub as I've never stayed overnight, although the rooms look lovely. I have however eaten fairly often at The Ship (now called the Top Ship so as not to confuse it with the 'Bottom Ship' down the road at Porlock Weir). The service has always been first class and the food excellent, but last night particularly impressed me and compelled me to write this review. I ordered a dish of chicken breast (cooked with the skin on but wonderfully crispy) with tarragon sauce and lyonnaise potatoes. It was accompanied by a handful of rocket and side vegetables of perfectly cooked cauliflower, french beans and red cabbage. The whole meal was exceedingly tasty and of a very high standard and I will definitely be visiting again. My Dad had beer battered cod and chips and reported equally tasty results, good portion size, etc.

We like the Top Ship because the atmosphere is friendly and welcoming, with locals and tourists co-existing fairly happily although locals tend to know about the bar, a traditional 'snug' with stone-flagged floors where tall tales have been shared for centuries! The standards are flawless though, with attention paid to good service, cleanliness and a varied menu. All round thoroughly recommended, and I'm sure that staying overnight would be a pleasure too.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thekateress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

I have only been to the pub, so my review only relates to this experience, but I have been a few times now!
We always eat in the bar so that we can take the dog. The food is great, it is proper pub grub, but well cooked and great value for money.
Service is always great as well, friendly and will make sure you are happy with your food, if not they will fix it.

Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Escapee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
0.0 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
5.2 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 18 in Porlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.6 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Property: The Ship Inn
Address: High Street, Exmoor National Park, Porlock, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Porlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Ship Inn Porlock, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing