We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Overstream

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Overstream
Ranked #6 of 20 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 5-7 July. B&B is lovely, king size rooms are spacious with large bed, we had sea view on top floor. Rooms clean with nice range of teas. Breakfast is very tasty and service great. Very friendly owners and welcome you with tea or coffee and slice of cake. Sun was shining so we had it out in the garden. The cream teas seem popular although we did not manage to try one. All in all a lovely place and would recommend a stay here. Good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DebbieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    18
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
77
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
340 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I called in for tea yesterday and as it was raining we sat inside. It is a few years since we last ate here and it seemed better than we remembered it. Inside was uncluttered, clean and tidy and the toilet spotless. My husband ordered a cream tea and I ordered carrot cake, which was very disappointing. The square slice was less than an inch deep and burnt, the frosted icing covered some of the top but it was clearly black and the underneath was almost as bad. I was surprised they actually had the nerve to ice it and serve it and charge £2.25 for it, most people would have thrown it away. I left most of it and felt I was being conned. My husband shared his cream tea with me and that couldn`t be faulted, the local Miles tea was also very good and a nice strength from the outset, not at all weak. My husband pointed out that the carrot cake was disappointing as it was overcooked and the man serving just said "Oh I`m sorry about that" but didn`t offer a replacement and still charged us for it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overstream, Owner at Overstream, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we are really sorry that you were disappointed with the carrot cake. Yes, we agree that we should not have charged you for it as it was obviously not up to our usual high standards. This was the first time we had made this particular cake and on reflection, it was not a success.
We hope that when you are next in Porlock, that you will return to us and try an alternative cake with our compliments, or perhaps a cream tea, which we are pleased you did enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Lovely stay, slept very well both nights. Good solid breakfast. Yummy cake and tea on arrival - round the corner from Miles Tea, which is worth a visit. Very friendly owners who were helpful with maps and knowledge of the area. Would definitely stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank the_two_penguins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I arrived as a single traveler and was greated with a helping hand with my luggage and invited to have tea and cake in the loung as a complimentary gesture. My room was extremely clean and the bed comfortable. As a single ooccupancy I incurred no extra room suppliments hence my stay as a single person was very good value. The hosts are a lovely couple who were happy to help in any way. The area is beautiful and the people extremely friendly. There is lots to do in the village, I would reccomend the Exmore Safaris to non walkers and the Art shops and Gallery. Thank you very much to a lovely couple.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

My dad and I stayed here at the beginning of September. It was his first proper holiday in 12 years. We were welcomed with a cup of tea and home-made cake. Nothing was too much trouble, we felt relaxed, so much so that Dad said he would be happy to return on his own. My room at the top of the house was quiet and an added bonus is the small lift . Good size car park at rear of property. Breakfast was superb- cooked fresh to order. Special diets are catered for and they sell local sheep's milk ice cream!! (5 stars just for that!) .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank louyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is the third year in a row that we have spent 3 nights with friends in August at the Overstream. We always get a very friendly welcome and nothing is too much trouble. We cannot fault our stay. It is nice to come back from a day in the lovely Exmoor countryside and sit outside and have a really nice cream tea. The car park at the back is very good and for those who do not have a car the bus stop is right outside.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lynda46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Porlock is a very picturesque village that is well worth a visit. The owners recommended an evening stroll up the valley behind the B&B that had lovely views. Nick and Maggie are great hosts, they made us feel at home and on arrival bought us a cup of tea out in the garden. We had a comfortable nights stay in our room upstairs overlooking the village. The village was very colourful with the bunting out for the Diamond Jubilee and the passing of the Olympic Torch. The ensuite shower however unit is cramped - unless you are small. The breakfast was magnificent.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
0.2 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hunters Lodge B&B
Hunters Lodge B&B
#1 of 20 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 20 in Porlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 20 in Porlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.7 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glen Lodge
Glen Lodge
#7 of 20 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overstream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overstream

Property: Overstream
Address: Parsons Street, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Overstream 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Overstream is located in the heart of Porlock, and is ideally situated for all local activities including Exmoor National Park and the coast. All rooms are ensuite, have tea and coffee making facilities and TV. We have a large car park and a lift to all floors. The Overstream is licensed and guests can relax in the lounge, in front of a log fire in the evenings. Free internet access is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Overstream reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overstream Porlock, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing