We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very enjoyable stay”
Review of Overstream

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Overstream
Ranked #6 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Nick gave us a very warm welcome on arrival (21.5.11). We had afternoon tea in the garden and when I asked for camomile tea Nick arranged for a supply of camomile tea bags to be put in our room. I was most impressed and touched by this attention to detail. The Hotel was very clean, the breakfast was delicious and the service was excellent. I would not hesitate to recommend The Overstream Hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise504170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    18
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
78
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea , Wales
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We have stopped in Porlock a number of times to get our cheese from The Big Cheese Shop en route home to Wales. The weather is beautiful so we looked about for somewhere to have a cuppa. What a find!!! Osian (our Newfoundland who is less than conspicuous) was made very welcome and even got his own treat. The Cream Tea was heavenly and the scones obviously freshly baked. The service was terrific and, as we had to wait a short time for a new batch of scones to come out of the oven, a fresh tea and coffee were provided. I would recommend to all.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TracyHSwansea_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2011

Have stayed at the Overstream before and the hosts are superb plus the rooms and breakfast excellent value. The real clincher is the cream tea - amazing. The scones are baked fresh daily and it'sworth a trip just to enjoy the superb cream tea in the delightful garden. Porlock is an excellent Exmoor base for walking, motorbike touring or cycling. Can't recommend this hotel enough - excellent.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moorlands2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

The hotel is in the middle of Porlock village which gives easy access to the many restraurants and shops. The owners, Nick and Maggie are excellent and they go out of their way to really make you welcome. No task or request was ever refused and they really show what hospitality is all about. We stayed just 1 night and stayed in the room with the sea view. The room was clean, tidy and of very high standard as was the dining room, sitting rooms. The breakfast was perfect with just about all the choices being made available.This hotel comes highly recommended. We arrived around lunchtime and had an excellent lunch at the Home Cook Cafe located across the street from the village car park.They make their own bread and our soups were home made, a place you must visit if you like home cooking.
We had our evening meal at the Ship Inn (Porlock) and once again the food and hospitality was second to none.A special thanks to young lady working in the Cafe for returning my wife's mobile phone to the Hotel and to Nick for posting to us the same day. This unselfish act epitomises the great community atmosphere and respective attitudes we experienced in Porlock and lessons could be learned from the more established tourist areas of the UK by folowing their examples. Roger and Shirely

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Safetyman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

The Overstream owners were very welcoming, the room was clean and comfortable with lovely views over Porlock and the bristol channel. Location is very central. Breakfast - well cooked! Overall, excellent value for money and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazz_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

We didn't stay at the hotel but have visited for a cream tea on several occasions. I can honestly say we've had many cream teas over the years but these are the best in the West Country. The scones are cooked daily and are always hot. A real old English cream tea in lovely surroundings.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank TerryandNorma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2010

We were looking for a place to stay for a couple of days in Exmoor National Park and found the Overstream hotel.
Hosts are welcoming, well informed of the local area, really helpful!
There's a nice fire place to enjoy in the living room, daily newspapers available, plenty of guides and walk maps.
The hotel is really quiet - PERFECT for relaxing. And there's not too many rooms, feels more comfortable.
Bonus: the sea view from our room!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
0.2 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 18 in Porlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hunters Lodge B&B
Hunters Lodge B&B
#1 of 18 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.7 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.5 mi away
Exmoor Country House
Exmoor Country House
#3 of 18 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overstream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overstream

Property: Overstream
Address: Overstream Parsons Street, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Overstream 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Overstream is located in the heart of Porlock, and is ideally situated for all local activities including Exmoor National Park and the coast. All rooms are ensuite, have tea and coffee making facilities and TV. We have a large car park and a lift to all floors. The Overstream is licensed and guests can relax in the lounge, in front of a log fire in the evenings. Free internet access is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Overstream reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overstream Porlock, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing