We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”
Review of The Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cottage
Ranked #8 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2014

My friend and I just had one day at the Cottage but what an experience. Clare and Chris were wonderful hosts, the rooms were spacious and warm, the toiletries and beverages/biccies are posh hotel quality, the bedlinen and towels were super soft and after a day's gossiping, travelling and shopping we slept like logs in the comfortable beds. Excellent value, a real find, highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked great - we were given a choice which was a really nice touch - but Room 5 with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank june c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 149 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here a while ago with our babies and we were made very welcome, nothing was too much trouble. A home from home!

I'd especially recommend it for those with a child, The Cottage have a travel cot which is very handy!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairesteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Thank you Chris and Claire for a wonderful stay! The Cottage B & B offer excellent accommodation and a warm and friendly welcome. Rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was a veritable feast - delicious! We will definitely be returning and recommending to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We went with a group of friends for 2 nights and the Cottage is the best that we have found in the area.
The owners were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious (they certainly put some expensive hotels to shame!).
The guest lounge was a bonus for us to all sit down & chat over the cup of tea that was supplied by the owners as each couple arrived.
The breakfast was excellent: High quality local produce, beautifully cooked and available at an earlier time than usual so that the boys could get out and play on the West Somerset Railway.
We will return in 2014.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cp9399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

A really lovely B & B. Claire and Chris mange to combine the warmth and welcome of a small family business with very high quality accommodation and service. We were staying as part of a family group celebrating a birthday so the lovely guest lounge was very useful. As other reviewers have noted the breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 916TezE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed just one night in the king room 5 at The Cottage. What a find, right on the high street and lovely welcoming hosts. Everything was catered for, from posh toiletries in the en suite bathroom to the local butcher's best sausages at breakfast. There are quite a few bed and breakfasts in the village, we were so glad to have chosen this one. Thank you Chris and Clare Gladstone.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is just the kind of B&B you want to find, when you need to stay a night somewhere. The owners are friendly and helpful, the room is pleasant, even spacious, the bed is comfortable, and the breakfast is good quality. There is also a guests' living room downstairs, so there is somewhere to go if you just want to sit and muse a little. It is right in the village, and you can walk out the front door and just wander. Can't fault it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porlock hotels
0.1 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
91 reviews
0 mi away
Rose Bank Guest House
Rose Bank Guest House
#4 of 18 in Porlock
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 18 in Porlock
73 reviews
0.4 mi away
Exmoor Country House
Exmoor Country House
#3 of 18 in Porlock
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glen Lodge
Glen Lodge
#7 of 18 in Porlock
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage

Address: The Cottage High Street, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at historic and charming 18th century The Cottage B&B in the heart of Porlock, offering well appointed and luxurious bedrooms. All rooms have Freeview televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryers, alarm clocks and en suites with big fluffy towels and luxurious toiletries. A full English breakfast, using only the finest locally sourced ingredients, will set you up for a day of exploring all that Exmoor has to offer while the guest lounge is the perfect place to relax with an afternoon cup of tea or an evening board game. Children aged three or under stay for free. Free wifi for residents and packed lunches available on request. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cottage Porlock, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing