We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit 19th/20th may 2013”
Review of The Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cottage
Ranked #7 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Horely
1 review
“Visit 19th/20th may 2013”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have stayed in the Minehead/Porlock area each year in May for some 10 consecutive years now and this is the best B & B we have had to date. A warm welcome with tea and biscuts offered in a delightful lounge where one can sit and decide your plans using the extensive range of leaflets available or just talk to other guests about your day. Our room was very pleasant, shower quite large and efficient, bed comfortable and linen clean and crisp. A good choice of excellent food was on offer for breakfast with most items being sourced locally in the village.
All in all a great place to stay. Porlock has a number of good pubs / restaurants for evening meals at reasonable prices with a good selection of ales on offer.
As the saying goes "we will retrun"

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
64
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Cottage is one of the friendliest, nicest places I have stayed. It is a quirky old building but beautifully kept, the rooms are comfortable and the food and welcome both excellent. I'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil_Garvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Friendly, helpful hosts, great breakfast, nice room in an old character cottage, right in the middle of the Main Street, with lots of choices for food and drink within a couple of minutes walk. Only about 15 minutes from the south west coast path, well worth the detour. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete_Sue101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Warm welcome from Clare and Chris with great service and very clean, comfortable bedroom. Fantastic breakfast on offer with masses to choose from. Very happy with my stay and looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cbuchele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Clare and Chris of The Cottage in Porlock High Street were very welcoming right from when we walked in. the room was a good size and had very comfortable beds (family room) and fluffy big duvets and huge white towels. The room was very clean and had lovely toiletries in the bathroom which smelt gorgeous, the power shower was very powerful and hot. Breakfast was delicious and we were offered a variety of coffees and teas. The guest lounge had luxurious sofas that swallowed you up and wifi was available from there too.
thank you for our break, we will certainly be revisiting after our 2 night stay. And we saw the exmoor ponies and the sea and blue sky.... What more could you ask for!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Thank you for a wonderfull time. money well spent. Porlock is such a wonderful village with beautifull views and pubs with stunning food . so thank you again to the new hosts that made us feel extremly welcome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJefferies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I picked this b&b from the Porlock tourist board site, and I was pleased indeed. Very pleasant hosts, made me instantly welcome and comfortable. The Cottage is a great example of a good B&B, run smoothly and the property is very well kept. Good size en-suite bedroom with the odd creaky floorboard (something would be wrong without a creaky floorboard!), no outside noises even though my bedroom was at the front, a very good nights sleep.
As for the Breakfast - this was a full English with all associated juices & cereals etc., up to an excellent standard. I was stuffed all day afterwards. I was only there for one night but I doubt you will find better. The area is very pleasant, and it seems there are plenty of places to eat and drink. I would certainly book again, and would recommend to others without reserve.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R80MYK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porlock hotels
0.0 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Overstream
Overstream
#6 of 18 in Porlock
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rose Bank Guest House
Rose Bank Guest House
#4 of 18 in Porlock
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 18 in Porlock
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hunters Lodge B&B
Hunters Lodge B&B
#1 of 18 in Porlock
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage

Property: The Cottage
Address: The Cottage High Street, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at historic and charming 18th century The Cottage B&B in the heart of Porlock, offering well appointed and luxurious bedrooms. All rooms have Freeview televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryers, alarm clocks and en suites with big fluffy towels and luxurious toiletries. A full English breakfast, using only the finest locally sourced ingredients, will set you up for a day of exploring all that Exmoor has to offer while the guest lounge is the perfect place to relax with an afternoon cup of tea or an evening board game. Children aged three or under stay for free. Free wifi for residents and packed lunches available on request. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cottage Porlock, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing