We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Culbone Stables Inn
Ranked #10 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 23, 2013

i turned up without a booking on father's day whilst showing a visitor exmoor. i hadn't realised it was father's day and so they were fully booked but nevertheless made us comfortable at the bar and served us with the best roast pork doorstep sandwiches on the planet. the roast pork was hot from their kitchen as it was being served to the bookings and the sandwiches came with crackling too and a bowl of fries.

despite being very busy, nothing was too much trouble and i told them how impressed we were.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jax D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

We never like to see hungry guests disappointed. I'm delighted that we were able to look after you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 207 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

I booked the restaurant for my husband’s birthday meal after reading brilliant reviews on Tripadvisor. We took a taxi from our B&B in Watchet and the restaurant was so remote the cab driver got lost and asked us where he should drive to! Being from London and visiting the area for the very first time, we didn’t have a clue. We finally arrived in the middle of nowhere and boy was the view worth the trip! Utterly gorgeous rolling hills for miles around with no sign of houses or other people. It was a Sunday night and not very busy so we got the whole outdoor area all to ourselves to enjoy a bottle of wine and admire the view. When ready, we were seated and served by an utterly lovely waiter & waitress who couldn’t have been more welcoming. Both our starters of devilled kidneys and a homemade Scotch egg were delicious. My husband’s main course of fish & chips was lovely too. Sadly, and to my massive disappointment, my locally sourced rib eye steak was far from perfect. I had asked for it medium rare, but it was slightly over. I could have lived with that if the steak itself had not been tough and chewy. I left some of it, which I never do. We didn’t have deserts. The bill for 2 courses, 2 bottles of wine, a coffee and an amaretto came to £118. London gastro pub prices and worth the service & the venue. Shame about the steak though. We would definitely go back if we were in the area. Be warned that it’s not really a pub though as the only place to sit & have a drink only is the outside seating area. The inside is very much a posh restaurant. And for those staying in Watchet: the return can fare was £68.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PollyPee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Hello Polypee,

We would love the opportunity to cook our Devon Red Steaks for you again. Do please let us know when you next plan to visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We ate here for lunch, having promised ourselves that we would try the place soon and never quite getting around to it.

Anyway, we finally made it and were welcomed warmly when we walked into the restaurant. The barman/waiter gave us an enthusiastic description of the specials which all sounded really fantastic.

The food was of excellent quality, well-presented and was extremely filling. I could only make my way through a main course and didn't have room for a dessert! Prices were a little expensive but still worth going there.

All in all, we loved our visit and will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbaggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you so much.

We look forward to your next trip to Exmoor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Having become aware of the refurbished "Culbone" and the excellent reviews it had received we recently decided to put this inn to the test and judge it against the numerous Porlock establishments which we had visited over many years.
Before concluding our opinion it was interesting to examine the small proportion of negative reviews and try to understand why there may have been customer dissatisfaction?
Most of the negative reviews could very obviously be attributed to inappropriate menu selection and false expectation.
Our considered opinion is that this is a very high quality gastro-pub/restaurant with excellent B&B facilities. Pity the plumber could not fit a stabilising valve to the cold water supply but this is of little significance against all the positives which are on offer.
We will certainly return again and enjoy the excellent culinary skills on offer.

Room Tip: Although not a particularly busy road the A39 might disturb very light sleepers so best to request r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keynsham-walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for your lovely feedback.

The team were delighted when I showed them this review. This is all the reward we need for doing what we love ever day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I E-mailed the Culbone to book a table prior to our visit Somerset from Yorkshire, right from the word go staff could not have been more helpful even organising a reliable taxi for us.
We chose to eat on a themed French night, the food was excellent, with a great choice.
Again the staff where friendly and helpful.
We had a wonderful evening and would highly recommend to people visiting or living in the area.
THANKS VERY MUCH

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elmofud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

You're welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

What a little gem of a place; The Culbone it proudly overlooking beautiful Exmoor.

A a group of 4 we were treated by our family to a night at The Culbone and a day in the cookery school with Jack the head chef. What Jack mustered up lived up to the cookery course's title; a true seafood extravaganza. In a friendly, relaxed atmosphere we helped Jack prepare and cook fresh fish from Brixham Market - eating oysters, home-made taramasalata, oven roasted scallops in garlic butter, sea bream baked in rock salt, mackerel on a bed of fennel, chilli and mint, skate wing in a black butter and caper sauce.

The day was fantastic - a real treat! In addition to the fantastic cookery course the room was beautiful. The staff were attentive, friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Hi Hannah,

We love holding our Cookery Days, and are delighted that we lived up to your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

What a find, Excellent all round, clean and modern a first class chef serving fresh fish, steaks, curry nights, you name it he'll try it, beautifully presented, Staff always cheerful and attentive, bedrooms, spacious and very comfortable with modern shower room. We will return. If you have visited The Royal Oak at Luxborough and loved it, you will also love this. Strongly recommended if your a foodie, a walker and you like peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Lovely views down the Doone Valley ( as in Lorna Doone)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for your lovely words.We used to enjoy the Royal Oak too.

Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
6.9 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
319 reviews
10.2 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
147 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
90 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
186 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 18 in Porlock
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Culbone Stables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Culbone Stables Inn

Address: A39 | 4 miles from Porlock on the A39 to Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range: $87 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Culbone Stables Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alex and myself Annette, have recently taken over the Culbone Stables Inn on Exmoor. It is situated on the A39 between Porlock and Lynton in the idyllic heart of Exmoor. Our Inn and gardens are in a beautiful setting and have exceptional views across the valley of Coombe. Our aim has been to renovate the restaurant back to a welcome, friendly Country Inn/pub. Our menu is traditional pub fare, at reasonable prices, using local produce. We welcome walkers, cyclists, families and dogs. We have 5 on suite bedrooms. 2 are opposite each other (one twin, one double) with their own landing and would be perfect for families. Room 1 has its own private patio, with stunning views. Our motto is , anything you want, just ask. We might not be able to fulfill some requests but there's no harm in asking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Culbone Stables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culbone Stables Hotel Porlock
The Culbone Stables Inn Porlock, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing