We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT FRENCH EVENING!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Culbone Stables Inn
Ranked #10 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT FRENCH EVENING!!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I E-mailed the Culbone to book a table prior to our visit Somerset from Yorkshire, right from the word go staff could not have been more helpful even organising a reliable taxi for us.
We chose to eat on a themed French night, the food was excellent, with a great choice.
Again the staff where friendly and helpful.
We had a wonderful evening and would highly recommend to people visiting or living in the area.
THANKS VERY MUCH

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elmofud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
You're welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    39
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
32
113
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2013

What a little gem of a place; The Culbone it proudly overlooking beautiful Exmoor.

A a group of 4 we were treated by our family to a night at The Culbone and a day in the cookery school with Jack the head chef. What Jack mustered up lived up to the cookery course's title; a true seafood extravaganza. In a friendly, relaxed atmosphere we helped Jack prepare and cook fresh fish from Brixham Market - eating oysters, home-made taramasalata, oven roasted scallops in garlic butter, sea bream baked in rock salt, mackerel on a bed of fennel, chilli and mint, skate wing in a black butter and caper sauce.

The day was fantastic - a real treat! In addition to the fantastic cookery course the room was beautiful. The staff were attentive, friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hi Hannah,

We love holding our Cookery Days, and are delighted that we lived up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnetby le Wold, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

What a find, Excellent all round, clean and modern a first class chef serving fresh fish, steaks, curry nights, you name it he'll try it, beautifully presented, Staff always cheerful and attentive, bedrooms, spacious and very comfortable with modern shower room. We will return. If you have visited The Royal Oak at Luxborough and loved it, you will also love this. Strongly recommended if your a foodie, a walker and you like peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Lovely views down the Doone Valley ( as in Lorna Doone)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your lovely words.We used to enjoy the Royal Oak too.

Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a great gastro treat high up on Exmoor. If your car can survive Porlock Hill then you must visit. London gastro quality dining in a contemporary setting up on the moors. This is a must visit and a great antidote to overpriced tat and the usual pub grub. Furthermore the owners and the chef really care!

Room Tip: Sorry on iPad and did a fat fingered trade. Didn't stay just ate here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hi Catherine. Glad you braved the Hill to enjoy the incredible views.

We hop =e to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

A lovely place with a relaxed feel to it and I'm sure on a quieter day, it would have been fantastic. Please if you go for a Sunday lunch, go early. We went late and had to wait a very long time. My pork dinner had very well done veg and a burnt yorkshire. I did say about the yorkshire and had it replaced immediately but it could have been so much better! On the other hand my son had the fish and chips and said it was the best he had ever had. So, to recap, this isn't so much a criticism as advice. Sometimes, things just get a bit hectic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonaR778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are committed to improving our experience daily. We share all comments as a team and agree action.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon. England
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Have been meaning to make it to the Culbone, but a bit too far for an evening and too close for a stay. However we are very glad to have taken the opportunity to pop in.

Promising looking menu but once the food arrived it exceeded our already high expectations. Batter as good as I've tasted with very well cooked chips, and a lamb burger with mint yoghurt which was packed full of perfectly balanced flavour.

My only regret is that as it was lunchtime I couldn't accommodate a sticky toffee dessert. But then there's always next time, and there will be a next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGBakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We will have the sticky toffee pudding waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The Culbone Inn was a fantastic getaway for my girlfriend and I. It was in a treat of a location - accessible and on the edge of the moor, with wild, uninterrupted views. There was plenty of ambience. It's family run with a uniquely understated atmosphere, warm and accommodating. The key thing to flag up here is the outstanding food. It's seriously good - locally sourced and at very reasonable prices. To eat like this in London would be hard to find and certainly at a cost to match. Rebecca is an excellent chatty hostess and unfailingly hospitable - even when our dog staked his territory on the bed as she showed us our room! The Inn is perfectly located above the hamlet of Culbone with its famous church. We would come back for sure - we've returned to our city life refreshed and longing for another 5* meal.

Room Tip: Wonderful views of moor - Room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagsMacK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and are now refreshed.

Do let us know if you would like to enjoy another 5* stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
3.4 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
168 reviews
2.1 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
538 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Cafe - Porlock Weir
The Cafe - Porlock Weir
#1 of 3 in Porlock Weir
359 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hunters Lodge B&B
Hunters Lodge B&B
#1 of 18 in Porlock
195 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#8 of 18 in Porlock
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Culbone Stables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Culbone Stables Inn

Property: The Culbone Stables Inn
Address: 4 Miles From Porlock on the A39 To Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8JW, England (Formerly Culbone Stables Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Culbone Stables Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alex and myself Annette, have recently taken over the Culbone Stables Inn on Exmoor. It is situated on the A39 between Porlock and Lynton in the idyllic heart of Exmoor. Our Inn and gardens are in a beautiful setting and have exceptional views across the valley of Coombe. Our aim has been to renovate the restaurant back to a welcome, friendly Country Inn/pub. Our menu is traditional pub fare, at reasonable prices, using local produce. We welcome walkers, cyclists, families and dogs. We have 5 on suite bedrooms. 2 are opposite each other (one twin, one double) with their own landing and would be perfect for families. Room 1 has its own private patio, with stunning views. Our motto is , anything you want, just ask. We might not be able to fulfil some requests but there's no harm in asking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Culbone Stables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culbone Stables Hotel Porlock
The Culbone Stables Inn Porlock, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing