We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Culbone Stables Inn
Ranked #10 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I emailed Nina, the General Manager on several occasions prior to our visit, due to having a puppy and different dietary requirements and every time she was prompt & very helpful with the responses!! We then visited this afternoon & the service & food were both excellent! Our dog happily ate some yummy biscuits and lapped up the attention given to her! It was a great afternoon, enjoyed by all, thank you very much!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Lovely to meet you.

We will be adding some icons to our menu for special dietary requirements next month (and adding some cookery classes too). Do let us know when you are travelling though Exmoor again.

We're always happy to respond to dietary enquiries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    40
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
32
115
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I popped in to look around in the afternoon for somewhere to eat that night. Lady greeted us and made us feel very welcome. Our little dog was also welcome too. Very nicely decorated with a lovely feel inside. We chose two meals from the specials board. Beef shin stew and ox cheek stew both priced at £13.50. Food quality and taste was amazing. Apple and blackberry crumble (£6.75) and sticky toffee pudding ( £7.75) for desert were both incredible. This is a lovely place which I would recommend anyone in the area to visit. You won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you Amy T.

It's a pleasure to meet guests who enjoy Exmoor as much as we do.

We hope to meet you all again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I cannot rate the Culbone highly enough! We rented all 5 rooms for two nights and arrived with four families including young children, babies, and dogs. Every possible need was met from washing baby bottles to providing children's meals at odd times. The staff were all extremely friendly and very patient. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped, the food was of excellent quality and superbly prepared. The surrounding countryside is stunningly beautiful and we did some wonderful walks, particularly down to the historic Culbone Church. In terms of being able to relax, and feel at home, I dont think we've found a rival to the Culbone. The only fly in the ointment was a lack of a bath for the babies but, with creative use of the shower, we were able to improvise!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelLightBands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank yo so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure to meet all of the family.

We hope to see you all here again on Exmoor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warks
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had dinner at The Culbone just before christmas and the food was excellent but we found the experience a bit lacking.The restaurant had no atmosphere as there was no where to sit and have pre dinner drinks you had to either stand at the bar or go straight to the table as there are only two sofas facing one another in front of the fire and if another party is sitting there where do you go? the flooring is modern kitchen floor tiles giving the place a rather cold cheap feel like being in a domestic kitchen and the lighting is way too bright,basically there is no ambiance and that is a very important part of any dining experience it is not just about the food.Needless to say we were in and out in just over an hour and having paid £78 for the two of us felt a bit ...well was that it?? you don't go away from the culbone feeling like you have had a night out..it's more a place to go if you are hungry and just want to be in and out,but given the very high prices can't imagine who would do that...so basically dim the lights get some candles and maybe a carpet , tell the barman to stop over gushing about how fantastic the chef is and how we are going to love it...was a bit irritating..customers will be the judge of how good he is not the barman.....and get somewhere for guests to sit before dinner,it's not Mcdonalds,you do not want to go straight to the table ,eat and go,dining out is an experience try and make it one.....wouldn't go again....better places to spend the best part of £100...sorry....

Room Tip: Go there if you are hungry...not if you want a night out...you will be home by nine!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harveyjackWarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
The team and I are truly disappointed that you didn't enjoy your experience with us at The Culbone.

Our aim is to improve our business and the guest experience each and everyday. Your comments are very welcome and have been shared with the team. I would be delighted to discuss your experience in person with you. Could you please contact me at mark@pipspubs.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Well, once again I find the need to write about the "Excellent Culbone". Arrived on the Sunday before New Years Eve and along with friends had a beautiful lunch, beef cooked to perfection and with a great selection of veg, had scallops to start, and how good were they; melt in the mouth good thats how. As per usual the welcome gives a good indicator to the professional way that the Culbone is run: Genuine and friendly and sincere. The New Years Eve meal ( seven courses) was the best along with the `Fizz`. The rest of my four day stay was as good as ever, food, accomodation and the wonderful warmth of both the environment and all of the hard working team, it amazes me how they stay so happy and friendly, they deserve the highest accolade. As any of you who have read my other reviews will know, I have a dog- On arrival in the room, there was a kilner jar with dog treats aand all labelled Seamus! I must admit I prefered the bottle of complimentary fizz! But seamus ate the treats with relish, you see I have a foodie dog.
To the odd person who writes negatives about this fabulous place I ask that you do not make a spot judgement, in all of my visits I have never had anything apart from fine food and the greatest of service. To all of the team sincere thanks for making the start of 2013 a great experience. Obviously will be back

Room Tip: Have only stayed in one room, but friends have stayed in others, all agree high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brutontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Wonderful spending New Year with you and your guests.

We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Had an overnight stay at the Culbone, and what a lovely place.We were given a large room with an enormous bathroom overlooking the moors.W e even had our own patio area.The sunset from here was beautifull...We ate in the resteraunt and had the 2 steaks for one offer, which were excellent..The breakfast was also very good.All in all a lovely place to stay and we cant wait to go back in the summer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenb49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hello Helen,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your evening in Room 1. the views are incredible (particularly now with a dusting of snow!).
We look forward to welcoming you back in the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on a business/pleasure trip in October in Porlock, and for the price point (around £50/night) it is a real gem. It is a way up from Porlock on Exmoor however, but it is so darn peaceful and calm up there, and beauitful to boot! (to note there is n mobile signal, but full WiFi in the bar area that makes up for it. And they let me use the pub landline to phone home which was kind of them!). The room i stayed in was cosy, warm and comfortable, something that was appreciated when staring out over the starkly beauitful, but cold and windswept looking Doone Valley (my room apparently had the best view of Exmoor). I was cosy and warm with a lovely view. i believe the rooms have been freshly refurbished, so are modern, with a lovely tea tray (and fresh milk available if you ask), flatscreen tv, and the biggest and most comfortable Iron frame bed in mine with lots of scatter cushions to sink into. The bathroom had a powerful shower and generous sized shower tray, and thr rooms felt clean and fresh. The Culbone is essentially a restaurant with rooms, and thr rest of my business party were all staying down in Porlock, but we all ate together on both nights here (i'd had the foresight, as a foodie, to work out that this gastropub had rooms!), so i was able to just waddle to my room after the meals. The food is of a high standard in the Bistro/Gastropub style, and we were ther on Tues night (locally caught fish night) and Wed night (Steak night!). On fish night we had a wonderful seafood platter between 6 of us, served on a massive wooden butchers block! Clams, prawns, whitebait, fresh Oysters...and THE most divine Taramasalata i have ever tasted! The local fish dishes served looked divine, i however was awkward and had a Devon Red Ribeye steak (had apparently been mooing down the road a few weeks before-local herd). This wasnt a problem for the kitchen despite ir being fish night. On the Wed night, Steak Night, my colleagues all came back up again, and i had a delicious scallop starter, and, erm, Fish and Chips! I like to be awkward! Again not a problem for the kitchen. Overall, delicious food, reasonably priced. Lovely welcoming staff and cosy, peaceful, beautifully isolated (in a nice way) if you are staying there. I'd highly recommend it!

Room Tip: ask for room 3, cosy with lovely bed and views of the Doone Valley, Exmoor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hello Moose Yard,

Thank you for your kind comments. I have shared your feedback with the team here.

We hope to see yo again at The Culbone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
10.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
713 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
169 reviews
2.1 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
88 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 18 in Porlock
70 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Cafe - Porlock Weir
The Cafe - Porlock Weir
#1 of 3 in Porlock Weir
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Culbone Stables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Culbone Stables Inn

Property: The Culbone Stables Inn
Address: 4 Miles From Porlock on the A39 To Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8JW, England (Formerly Culbone Stables Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Culbone Stables Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alex and myself Annette, have recently taken over the Culbone Stables Inn on Exmoor. It is situated on the A39 between Porlock and Lynton in the idyllic heart of Exmoor. Our Inn and gardens are in a beautiful setting and have exceptional views across the valley of Coombe. Our aim has been to renovate the restaurant back to a welcome, friendly Country Inn/pub. Our menu is traditional pub fare, at reasonable prices, using local produce. We welcome walkers, cyclists, families and dogs. We have 5 on suite bedrooms. 2 are opposite each other (one twin, one double) with their own landing and would be perfect for families. Room 1 has its own private patio, with stunning views. Our motto is , anything you want, just ask. We might not be able to fulfil some requests but there's no harm in asking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Culbone Stables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culbone Stables Hotel Porlock
The Culbone Stables Inn Porlock, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing