We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Culbone Stables Inn
Ranked #10 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 5, 2012

My husband and I visited the Culbone for a peaceful night away from the children! We had an enjoyable time. We were greeted with a warm welcome, the staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Our room was bright,clean and very comfortable,and both our evening meal and breakfast were delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear Sharon,

The team are really happy that you had a peaceful night away. The rooms can be so quiet that we have to remind some guests to set their alarm clocks!

We look forward to welcoming you back

Warm Regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 207 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2012

Spent two days at The Culbone for the wife's 70th birthday. Food was very good and the staff were excellent. Would recommend The Culbone...GO give it a try.

Room Tip: Room no. 1 has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seath m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Hello Seath,

Thank you for your review. I'm really pleased that your family had a great time with is at the Culbone.

Celebrating special occasions is our favourite hobby.

We look forward to seeing you again

Best

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Have just returned from a lovely evening at The Culbone. We live 20 minutes away and have only just discovered this hidden gem. We went to their fish and seafood themed night...delicious! The medley of starters was a lovely beginning to our meal. My partner followed this with crab and I had the red mullet with aioli and an interesting selection of vegetables including Porlock Bay samphire....yummy! Finished with a generous portion of lemon tart with raspberries. Friendly service and minimalist tasteful surroundings topped off with a tour of accomodation and the Chef's Table room where they do their cookery classes. A lovely evening out.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandSallyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Hi Sallyanne,

Thank you for your feedback, I'm delighted that you enjoyed our Special Seafood Night on Tuesday. I hope the team invited you to join our local members club, Pips Club, so that we can inform you of the special nights we have planned for the rest of the year?

We have approximately 700 local members who we communicate with each week. It is our local community that helps us to plan the special nights, based on their requests.

I hope to welcome you back to The Culbone soon.

Best

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This is my second stay at the Culbone and once again the rooms, food & staff were fantastic. A brilliant wine selection and a great place to stay with family or friends.

Room Tip: All rooms are fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Hi Katie,

Great to hear that we looked after you just as well second time around. Being consistent is extremely important to us at The Culbone.

Have you joined our Pips Country Club for visitors from outside of the South West?

We hope to see you soon

Best

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We went here for dinner, I'd recommend reserving a table as seemed pretty full when we visited! The homemade pesto is yummy and the protions very good for this kind of place. We had veggie options all of which were delicious. Staff were friendly but could have possibly done with another or staff to help each other out, one lady seemed to be doing most of the work and the other couple of blokes not too much.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sunsearcher7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Dear Sunsearcher,

Thank you very much for your comments. We ask all of our guests for feedback to help us to keep improving (you never can stop).

I have taken your comment on board regarding how busy we were (I fear that I may have been one of the blokes not doing too much!).

We are always striving to be better, and have discussed your comments and agreed action with the team.

I hope that we will see you again in the future?

Best

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at The Culbone which we thoroughly enjoyed.
From arrival to departure the trip was an absolute pleasure.
The staff were, without exception, friendly, professional and courteous, making us feel very at home.
We stayed in a room which had it's own private patio with a stunning view across the valley. Would love to tell you which room it was but I would rather keep it a secret in case we want to book it again!
The room was extremely clean and furnished with plenty of character, the centerpiece being a huge and very comfortable bed.
The bathroom was particularly spacious, with a double headed shower and plenty of fluffy white towels.
The room was dog friendly, in fact the hotel prides itself on being welcoming to our canine friends which makes a lovely change and is perfect considering you are surrounded by lovely walks which lead directly from the hotel.
Lastly, I feel I have to mention the quality of the food, which from breakfast through lunch and dinner is of a consistently high quality and extremely well presented.
Over the course of our stay we partook of a good selection of the food on offer, from Thai to locally caught fish and the most exquisite cream tea served with a a chilled glass of Prosecco.
The food was complimented by a well rounded wine list although the option of a slightly cheaper house wine would have been a good addition.
All in all we had a really wonderful stay and look forward very much to returning.
(Especially the dog!)

Room Tip: Room 1 has a private patio with an amazing view and a fantastic double shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Hi Sarah,

Wow! Thanks for your lovely words.

We are very passionate about our people, our community and our business. I'm delighted that you were able to celebrate with us ( and your dog too!).

Did you join our Members Club on your last visit?

Best

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

The staff at the Culbone were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The food was amazing and the chef was happy to help us with our special dietary needs. I would be happy to recommend the Culbone to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Hi Sarah,

Thank you for your comments, I have shared them with my team.

Please do let us know about your dietary requirements for future visits. Jack and his team will be happy to create something with enough time.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
3.5 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
186 reviews
6.9 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
317 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
142 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
257 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Culbone Stables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Culbone Stables Inn

Address: 4 Miles From Porlock on the A39 To Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8JW, England (Formerly Culbone Stables Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range: $86 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Culbone Stables Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alex and myself Annette, have recently taken over the Culbone Stables Inn on Exmoor. It is situated on the A39 between Porlock and Lynton in the idyllic heart of Exmoor. Our Inn and gardens are in a beautiful setting and have exceptional views across the valley of Coombe. Our aim has been to renovate the restaurant back to a welcome, friendly Country Inn/pub. Our menu is traditional pub fare, at reasonable prices, using local produce. We welcome walkers, cyclists, families and dogs. We have 5 on suite bedrooms. 2 are opposite each other (one twin, one double) with their own landing and would be perfect for families. Room 1 has its own private patio, with stunning views. Our motto is , anything you want, just ask. We might not be able to fulfil some requests but there's no harm in asking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Culbone Stables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culbone Stables Hotel Porlock
The Culbone Stables Inn Porlock, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing