We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty classic food in generous portions”

Piggy In The Middle
Ranked #6 of 20 Restaurants in Porlock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Tasty classic food in generous portions”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

After a long hike along the epic Exmoor coastline what more could you want that generous portions of fish and chips (perfectly cooked, crisp thin batter, melt in your mouth fish) or one of their numerous choices of home-made pie (from classic steak and ale to venison in a rich red wine sauce, delicious!) all served with lashings of gravy and hearty sides of chips. The food here is great, as is the service, and we had a wonderful meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    69
    26
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best fish & chips I've eaten on a while! ”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

We walked into Porlock from our B&B and could not decided on dinner (lots of choice)! We decided to have fish & chip here and have no regrets! The pies also looked yummy! Service was fast and friendly. I went for small fish & chips and it tasted awesome! A quirky little restaurant or take away that is well priced, good service and excellent food! Highly recommend!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jade E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stunning fish”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Went here as a random choice as the place we had intended to go to was actually miles away!
It's a funny little cafe / front room type arrangement, but with quite a few tables reserved...
I ordered a large cod, it was so much better than expected. Thin crispy batter and probably the best bit of cod ever, such soft, almost fluffy fish! happy to serve veg instead of chips.
Not too expensive and a pleasant surprise. Licenced too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartfromBisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Splendid chip supper takeaway”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Popped in to this restaurant because it looked an interesting little place and we wanted something plain like a fish and chip supper. A quick look at the menus on the wall showed it was far less expensive to order a takeaway than dine in the little restaurant area. A disproportionate difference in prices from what I could see but everyone we saw was ordering takeaways. In my opinion the place is really a fish/pie and chip shop with the cooking apparatus in a kitchen and not on view. Anyway, I find myself unnecessarily rambling just check the prices for in and out dining.
On a more important note what is the food like? Very good is an emphatic answer. Sometimes a plain tasty meal hits the spot. My wife had fish and chips and I had pie, many types available, and chips all to take away. Tasty in every respect, crisp batter on the lovely fish, a small but flavoursome steak pie and chips that were plentiful and importantly not soggy! The lady who takes the orders did a great job with us and others ordering to make sure salt and vinegar was applied if ordered! Sounds easy but this was a busy place during our visit and suppers appeared wrapped in paper around a polystyrene carton as ordered. Thumbs up!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verena515, Owner at Piggy In The Middle, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your positive review! I would like to inform customers however that we do not use polystyrene cartons we use biodegradable cartons instead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Take away”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We had a take away meal from Piggy in the Middle whilst on holiday. The selection of home made pies available is amazing and the one I went for was really tasty. Fish and chips were also really good, although the portion of chips was not massive it was just enough. Slightly pricey for fish and chip take away, but the home made pie was more than worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank benniferbobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piggy In The Middle also viewed

Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Piggy In The Middle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing