We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st class”
Review of Glen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glen Lodge
Ranked #8 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2013

All the previous reviews say it all. What a wonderful B & B in a superb setting in Hawkcombe, above the village of Porlock. Meryl and David are excellent hosts, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. We were tucked away at the top of the house in the Rose room with beautiful views over the garden, down the valley to the sea and on a clear day across the Bristol Channel to Wales. Ideally situated to take advantage of the wild Exmoor National Park, David has a wealth of local knowledge to help you make the most of your stay, short or long. Meryls cooking is superb, make sure you try the Denver Omlette!! I should have had one on the first day. We will def return here there is so much to see in the local area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxysquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 133 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed in the lodge for one night. The hosts were welcoming and the room and public areas were very comfortable with good amenities and facilities. The Coleridge room that we stayed in is large and has fabulous views down the valley to Porlock Wier. The lodge is on the outskirts of the village, but the walk into the centre is easy and whilst we didn't have any time for walking, the lodge appeared to be well located for many of the walks through the woods. Breakfast was superb.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meg987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Only spent one night, beautiful comfortable room. Splendid view and perfect location for touring. Breakfast excellent, all food freshly cooked with fine produce. For an extra £30.00 each stay for dinner, Lambs Liver to start, Fishcakes for main all served with fresh veg from the garden, followed by dessert and coffee.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CabDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed in this lovely lodge for five nights in order to walk on Exmoor. There are plenty of walks from the house and the host, David, is very knowledgeable on the area.

Meryl's food, as mentioned before, is wonderful and she even allows you to take some of the gorgeous home made breakfast muffins on your walks!

Our room (Coleridge) was large with a beautiful bay window looking down onto the village and sea and the bed was very comfortable.

David and Meryl are planning to add some self-catering accommodation, a gym and swimming pool to the property.

We look forward to returning in the near future.

Room Tip: Coleridge is a large room with its own private shower room and has beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBL265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

David and Meryl make you feel very welcome from the first hello to the final farewell. I had two nights in their splendid home set in acres of well maintained grounds with views of the Bristol Channel across to Wales, albeit from their elevated position set in a wooded combe at the foot of Exmoor. The bedroom and en suite were to a high standard and guests are encouraged to use the sitting room and the tranquil haven of their library. The breakfasts really are top quality with a wide variety to suit all tastes. What with the choice of various home made loaves and the delicious cooked breakfasts I was well set up for adventuring out into the wonderful countryside around. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at Glen Lodge for three nights from 24th July. Our welcome from Meryl was charming and so friendly and that theme ran through our time with Meryl and David. Glen Lodge is a very attractive place with fascinating art work on all the walls, most of it original, attractive china in our room and at the breakfast table, delicious food - Meryl is an excellent cook! We had a lovely visit and highly recommend this B&B as a fun, peaceful place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in Woodland which is a little dark due to the wooded bank nearby but it has a lovely atmos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

First time (hopefully not the last) at this lovely B&B.Meryl and David are perfect hosts. Think homemade cakes, cookies and butterscotch ice cream sitting on a deck with fabulous views. Comfortable room, lovely bathroom and Delicious breakfast. Really what more can you ask.
The house is and grounds are first class. Perfect for a weekend break.!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holiday4meCheddar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
0.2 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
183 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
743 reviews
0.5 mi away
Exmoor Country House
Exmoor Country House
#3 of 18 in Porlock
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
565 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 18 in Porlock
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Overstream
Overstream
#5 of 18 in Porlock
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Lodge

Address: Glen Lodge Hawkcombe, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range: $130 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Glen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Lodge Porlock, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing