We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rose Bank Guest House
Ranked #3 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed here for the last two nights. John and Elaine are the kinda people that leave an imprint in your heart, they are warm and wonderul people and the best hosts one could imagine!
Breakfast at this guesthouse is well known, and I must say it was the best we had on our 9 day journey through Cornwall/Devon/Somerset.
I will recommend this guesthouse warmly to everyone and wish all the best to John and Elaine!

Room Tip: Room number 4 has a nice view:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiinaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 298 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stopped off in Porlock and found a room at Rose Bank. Made welcome by John & Elaine, good shower, great breakfast.Our dog Nelly came with us and was also made most welcome. See you again. Thank You. John & Suzanne.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank air_conditioning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at Rose Bank Guest House. John and Elaine are the perfect hosts and made us feel very welcome. Our room was excellent, the facilities and cleanliness were exceptional and we particularly liked the little extra touches in the room - shampoo/conditioner in the shower, toiletries to help yourself to if you'd forgotten anything etc. Elaine's breakfasts are amazing and we also enjoyed a fabulous steak for dinner one evening, all home cooked and delicious. We took our dog with us, first time in a guest house - we were a little apprehensive travelling with a lively Cocker Spaniel but Rose Bank is very dog friendly and our stay was very relaxing and enjoyable - home from home. We are looking forward to returning sometime soon - highly recommend Rose Bank Guest House and a big thank you to John and Elaine for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank podders31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

after reviewing a couple of b& b's in Porlock I decided to go to the Rose Bank for a weekend break. It was one of my better decisions. John & Elaine could not have done more to make my stay more enjoyable When you add to that their local knowledge of the area and advice they gave to their customers I will definitely be returning for a longer stay

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alunstone1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Phil & i love staying at rosebank guest house.john & elaine are very welcoming. Nice rooms, fantastic breakfast. We have been staying there twice a year for the last 5 years.nothing is too much trouble, it's like staying with friends. Looking forward to our stay in october.


Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

A lovely guest House in Porlock . The room was clean and well equipped with tea ,coffee facilities , tv and wifi. the showers are good and every thing you could want was available,
The breakfast is freshly cooked for you and the evening meals are fresh and tasty,
John/Elaine are both welcoming and friendly .
we all had a great stay , Highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricSpinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

A very imposing Guest House at the end of the High Street in Porlock. Even though the house is very old the rooms are very beautifully presented and spotlessly clean. Everything you could think of is provided for you, in fact we tried our hardest to think of anything that was missed but could find nothing. There are the usual tea/coffee making facilities and a hairdryer but also a bath robe and slippers!! and in the bathroom towels are provided plus shampoo and conditioner in the shower. There is even a toiletry bag that contains all those items you may not think of packing (i.e. nail clippers, cotton buds, ladies toiletries, toothpaste, toothbrush even a razor and hairspray!!) The breakfast was excellent with freshly sourced local sausages , bacon and jams. John runs a very tight ship when it comes to breakfast and is there waiting for you at your requested breakfast time to take your order for tea/coffee and toast whilst you help yourself to cereals or fresh fruit. Although we did not use the restaurant you can also pre-order your food for that evening from a very good menu at very reasonable prices. So if you're thinking of staying in Porlock for a short break or summer holiday, look no further than Rose Bank. You are guaranteed a very warm welcome from John and Elaine.

Room Tip: Porlock Carnival takes place on the first Saturday of September each year. If you don't like cro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
0.1 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
186 reviews
6.9 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
142 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#6 of 18 in Porlock
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Overstream
Overstream
#5 of 18 in Porlock
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 18 in Porlock
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Bank Guest House

Address: Rosebank High Street, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range: $86 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose Bank Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosebank House has been recently renovated to a high standard. Centrally situated in the picturesque village of Porlock it is ideally situated to all amenities including pubs, restaurants and gift shops. We are within walking distance of the beach as well as other places of interest including Porlock weir and Bossington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Rose Bank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Bank Guest House Porlock, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing