We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Summer Rose”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rose Bank Guest House
Ranked #4 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and I love Exmoor, so when we take our summer holiday, we stay for two weeks. Both of us prefer to stay in the same place, rather than move around and have to pack and unpack. This means that it is important to find excellent, comfortable accommodation to ensure a good break.
Having seen Rose Bank from the street, we looked at the website and reviews, then stayed last summer. We enjoyed our time at Rose Bank so much that we have just arrived home after our second two week stay.
The rooms are nicely decorated, very clean and appointed with everything provided in order to give a very comfortable stay. The attention to detail is superb, with nothing left to chance.
The hosts, John and Elaine are really nice, friendly and helpful. Their knowledge of the area is a bonus for any guests wanting guidance on where and what to do on Exmoor.
We would thoroughly recommend Rose Bank to anyone wishing to stay In this beautiful part of the country.
Mark & Karen H

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m_horton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 294 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

Took a day trip to Porlock & decided to stay overnight. Had a great find in the Rose Bank. John & Elaine where warm hosts. The room was spotless and we were served with a delicious breakfast using quality produce .We would not hesitate to recommend the Rose Bank to anyone wanting to stay in Porlock. Steven & Cindy H

Room Tip: We stayed in a room that allows dogs and it was spotless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porlockbb, Owner at Rose Bank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you very much Steven and Cindy.
To receive such a good review from you both is very gratifying as you only found us by chance and were only able to stay one night; we hope to welcome you again when you have more time.
A review such as yours is really important to us because you are new contacts; and because we enjoy a very high percentage of repeat business those repeat guests tend not to place a review after their first visit, and we do appreciate that people don't always have time in their busy lives.
However, to maintain our position at the top of the listings we need both new and repeat reviews, so we say to all our established guests and new guests, please do a review.
So, thanks again Steven and Cindy, see you after the harvest!
Very best wishes
John & Elaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed here at very short notice this month (June 2013) for two nights but I wish that it could have been longer. We booked via the Tourist Information Centre who were most helpful.The room that we had was very light, airy spotlessly clean and spacious with excellent en suite facilities and a large comfortable double bed. John and Elaine were most welcoming and friendly and work hard to ensure the comfort and enjoyment of their guests.There was an excellent choice for breakfast and everything is cooked fresh on arrival whilst you help yourself to cereals, juices and a selection of fruits and yoghurts. All ingredients were perfectly cooked and well presented and fresh coffee and toast was in plentiful supply. Nothing was too much trouble... we will certainly stay again and can highly recommend The Rose Bank. It was in the main street of the little village of Porlock and there are excellent places to eat within a very short walking distance which was super. We ate at Miller's Bistro as our friends had their dog with them who is very well behaved and had a very good meal there and they were more than welcoming too. Thankyou John and Elaine for making our stay like home from home....
Cheryl and Alan

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Porlock is small and having spent 5 nights there hiking and exploring feel Rosebank the best. Rooms are clean and nice. Breakfast delicious and they made sure we had access to their maps & hiking booklets a plus for 2 American hikers. If a negative it's that the heat is turned off all day. If you return chilled and or wet you need to wait until 5 to not be thoroughly and certifiably cold

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbquayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have just spent two nights at Rose Bank enjoying the wonderful hospitality of John and Eileen, and were greeted on our arrival like old friends. All the facilites are excellent, the room spotless and the breakfast delicious, it set us up for the day. We would highly recommend Rose Bank to anyone wanting to spend some time in this wonderful part of the country.

Room Tip: Room at the front for a view of the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have just returned from 2 nights here after reading the great reviews on Tripadvisor. We were very warmly welcomed by John and Elaine and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was spotless and breakfast was wonderful. Will def stay here again on our next visit.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from yet another few nights at Rose Bank. All the other reviews say it all but I will add that since last time a guest's lounge area has been added so you don't have to be confined to your room. We made good use of the local bus links to Lynmouth and Minehead and locally to Porlock Weir which is always worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpockUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
0.0 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
183 reviews
6.8 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Overstream
Overstream
#5 of 18 in Porlock
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 18 in Porlock
73 reviews
1.6 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Bank Guest House

Address: Rosebank High Street, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8PY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range: $86 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose Bank Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosebank House has been recently renovated to a high standard. Centrally situated in the picturesque village of Porlock it is ideally situated to all amenities including pubs, restaurants and gift shops. We are within walking distance of the beach as well as other places of interest including Porlock weir and Bossington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Rose Bank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Bank Guest House Porlock, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing