We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rose Bank Guest House
Ranked #3 of 17 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with a voucher stay and I must say what a bargain! The hosts were very friendly and helpful and even lit a fire for us to stay and finish drinks in the lounge area. The food was superb, beds really comfortable and everywhere was spotlessly clean. There were books available with advised walks which we took full advantage of and went for a four hour walk up in hills of Exmoor and then had a tasty cream tea. All in all highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Motty69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 300 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

Hubby and I had a lovely weekend getaway at Rose Bank Guest House and we found John and Elaine's hospitality very friendly indeed! We had the room at the top of the house with fantastic views toward the beach and surrounding areas. John was a particularly entertaining host and we also loved the delicious and generous meals they served. Very highly recommended indeed ! Thank you, John and Elaine!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GHumperdinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

John and Elaine have to be the best hosts around. Our third visit to Rose Bank and we would never stay anywhere else. Nothing is too much trouble, the rooms are spotless, the bathrooms are still as sparkling as they were on our fist visit about four years ago. The breakfasts are to die for, as much as you want or as little, all local, excellent produce. John and Elaine are real "village people" and keep you up to date with everything that's going on in Porlock and all the gossip!
Chris and Amy

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 are classed as "superior", Rooms 3 and 4 are just as good, but in attic and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HawkWatts12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Without doubt the Rose Bank Guest House is the best I have ever stayed at. At every stage of my contact with John and Elaine, the propriators, I was made to feel very welcome. There was nothing the couple would not do to ensure the comfort of their guests. The way I was treated, the superb food and the very pleasant accomodation made me feel like a princess even though I had broken my arm! This couple deserve the awards they proudly display as they exceed every expectation of excelence. They even had walking books available for guests to use and within my room was the most well equiped on suite I have ever seen. It even had a sewing kit! I would recomend this guest house to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Recently stayed at the Rose Bank guest house in mid January this year. John and Elaine were very welcoming and friendly. The room was extremely comfortable and the breakfast was amazing. Also, the evening meals were really tasty and very well cooked. At all meal times there was a good selection to choose from, and it's mainly traditional fare - but not boring! We would thoroughly recommend the Rose Bank guest house to anyone wishing to stay in Porlock and we hope everyone has an enjoyable stay, just as we did. We want to go back there already!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Recently returned from a very enjoyable stay at Rosebank. We had a very cosy room with the benefit of a sofa and occasional table which facilitated a game of Scrabble when the weather was inclement! The food served was excellent and John and Elaine very friendly. They were able to suggest some great local walks and hostelries which all went to make our stay a most enjoyable one. Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chippers_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at Rose Bank for 2 nights over the Xmas period as we were visiting family in the area. We were made to feel extremely welcome and our hosts went to considerable effort to ensure our stay was comfortable. The room was warm and welcoming and breakfast was very good indeed. We would certainly have no hesitation in recommending Rose Bank.

Room Tip: Our room was in the front of the house but very good double glazing ensured it was peaceful even tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
0.1 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
190 reviews
6.9 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
154 reviews
0 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#8 of 17 in Porlock
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 17 in Porlock
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Overstream
Overstream
#5 of 17 in Porlock
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glen Lodge
Glen Lodge
#7 of 17 in Porlock
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Bank Guest House

Address: Rosebank High Street, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range: $88 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose Bank Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosebank House has been recently renovated to a high standard. Centrally situated in the picturesque village of Porlock it is ideally situated to all amenities including pubs, restaurants and gift shops. We are within walking distance of the beach as well as other places of interest including Porlock weir and Bossington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rose Bank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Bank Guest House Porlock, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing