We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of the best in Porlock”
other travelers have booked this property
Exmoor Holidays has a large dog friendly secure private garden breathtaking sea views.  Patio &; BBQ
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exmoor Holidays has a large dog friendly secure private garden breathtaking sea views.  Patio &; BBQ
Bistro table in garden from which to admire the fantastic views across Porlock Bay Exmoor Holidays - Free off road parking for 2 cars at the front of  house, quiet location in Porlock
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Exmoor Holidays has a large dog friendly secure private garden breathtaking sea views.  Patio &; BBQ
Bistro table in garden from which to admire the fantastic views across Porlock Bay
Exmoor Holidays - Free off road parking for 2 cars at the front of  house, quiet location in Porlock
Free off road car parking for two cars outside Exmoor Holidays, Porlock
Exmoor Holidays garden in Porlock viewed from Superking bedroom.
Exmoor Holidays private patio with seating for 8 and Barbecue
Our dog friendly cottage in Porlock has large secure private garden and fabulous walks from our door
Guests are welcome to help themselves to herbs from Exmoor Holidays herb garden on the patio.
Exmoor Holidays spacious lounge-dining room fully equipped for 8 guests.  Wonderful sea views
Spacious lounge dining room, with log burner; breathtaking sea views; comfortable furnishings for 8
Exmoor Holidays Porlock has log burning fire in the living room, with comfortable leather furnishing
Fully equipped kitchen with sea and garden views
Fully equipped kitchen at Maxwelton.  Fridge/freezer, washing machine & tumble drier are in lobby
Exmoor Holidays Porlock Four poster double bedroom with sea views and ensuite w.c.
Our super-king bedroom has fabulous garden views
Double bedroom on ground floor of Exmoor Holidays (Bracken Apartment)
Twin bedroom has TV/DVD.
Bathroom with bath and over-bath shower
Garden to side of house, allocated to guests staying in Bracken or for guests renting whole house.
Fully equipped Kitchen on ground floor (Bracken Apartment)
Picturesque harbour at Porlock Weir, approx 1.5 mile woodland or coastal walk from our cottage
Red deer on Porlock Hill, view of Porlock village and Porlock Bay, Exmoor National Park
Magnificent Stag.  Red Deer on Exmoor
Views from Porlock Hill across Porlock Bay Exmoor National Park.  Approx 2 miles from our cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Porlock, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dec29
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“One of the best in Porlock”
Reviewed September 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We have been to Porlock for many years with the family and this is one of the nicest house we have stayed in .Large lounge, we managed to get 17 people in when the rest of the family ( who had other houses in the village )came for a visit, very clean would highly recommend .

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our cottage. We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R. F
I Don't Live In A City.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Splendid!”
Reviewed September 13, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Being two separate units that can be rented separately or together makes it suitable for different party sizes. When my wife and I went in March it was just the two of us so we just had the downstairs flat. In August however, we were with the rest of the family so just used downstairs for sleeping and spent the rest of the time upstairs with the others. We all found it very comfortable and everyone was highly delighted with it.

The pub next door is handy for an evening meal (they do an excellent local cider) and we also had fish and chips from the fish restaurant in the village which was very good. The Spar and Costcutters in the village are useful for local shopping and we used those when we weren't in Minehead where there is a Morrisons, a Tesco and a newly opened Lidl.

Porlock is well placed for visiting the many attractions in the area. We went up and down Porlock Hill once or twice (low gear NOW!) and visited Exmoor, Lynmouth (more fish and chips!), the Valley of the Rocks, Watersmeet, Dunster Castle, Tarr Steps and Dunkery Beacon as well as the beach at Minehead. The beach is good for the kids, although the loos for Minehead beach are a bit inadequate and leave a lot to be desired. That was our only gripe!

We also went to Watchet using the train on the West Somerset Railway; that way we didn't have to worry about finding somewhere to park when we got there and had a nostalgic steam train ride at the same time.

Having stayed there twice I would have no hesitation in staying there again and I would also unhesitatingly recommend it to anyone else.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2016
Thank you so much for sparing the time to write such an extensive review and sharing your experiences and we are delighted you enjoyed your holiday. (If you wish to avoid the low gears driving down Porlock Hill the scenic toll road is a fabulous alternative from which there are spectacular views). We hope you will be tempted to visit us again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaTurt...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous place to stay”
Reviewed August 12, 2016 for a stay in April 2015

My family have been travelling to Porlock for holidays for some 30+ years. A couple of years ago we discovered Maxwelton and Bracken. It was perfect for us all. Having the two that interlink was great for me (Grandma) and my two dogs. We all had an absolutely wonderful holiday and cannot wait to return. Last year our holidays did not sync with work commitments but we are all hoping we can come back next year. It is comfortable, well equipped with a secure garden for pooches. It is brilliantly located for Porlock village and great for families. Love it so much.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2016
We very much appreciate the time you have taken to submit your review and are delighted that you would like to return to stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronaldott
2 reviews
“The perfect place for a stress-free, chilled-out holiday”
Reviewed August 4, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

A clean, comfortable place to stay, with lovely views and a delightful garden, within walking distance of good village facilities.

Date of stay: May 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, it is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in September
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcreane
2 reviews
“A Fantastic Place”
Reviewed August 3, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This holiday cottage offers everything a family needs. A true home from home, with all the requirements met. A relaxing location, beautiful views and a cottage that provides comfort and space. We've visited twice and have heavily penciled in a third stay. 100% recommend. Very helpful and obliging owners and caretakers too.

Date of stay: July 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2016
Thank you very much for your review, and for being our first reviewer on our new Trip Adviser listing. We are delighted that you have enjoyed both your holidays with us and look forward to welcoming you back again hopefully in the not too distant future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing