We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with huge rooms but does feel very dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Walnut Tree Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Petherton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on business based on reviews. The staff were lovely and very helpful. Rooms were imaculate and clean but the whole place had a very dated feel like from the 70's. Internet access was very good and it was quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 270 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

We went there several months ago with a large family group including two coeliacs and my 92 year old gran. They bent over backwards to make sure my gran was comfortable and had everything she needed. They had a good understanding of gluten free food and avoidance of cross-contamination. We all had the roast which was very good.

The service was excellent too.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank NXL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I have visited here several times as it is a convenient point to meet friends and family. The hotel has an old fashioned service and food is always cooked to order.

We met there on Thursday evening and unfortunately, it was very busy and the management had underestimated how busy it would be. Consequently, it ended with us being very hungry and waiting longer than usual. However, as normal we received excellent food and apologies from the head waiter. Love it here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

What a great hotel, not only was the room immaculate the staff were so helpful. This was the first time I had stayed away alone and was a bit nervous, however the restaurant were very accomodating letting me order my food from the room and even offered to bring it up for me but I thought I needed to get out a bit! Excellent service, food was good (if I had to pick at anything the desserts could do with a bit more variety but I do have a sweet tooth!). Would definately recommend this hotel to anybody, just thought was worth noting the extra service and security I felt as somebody travelling alonw - I will definately be back!!

Room Tip: Although I was only booked into a standard room I was upgraded as it was a quieter time to an exec r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on business. The Walnut Tree seems to be a privately owned hotel, not part of a chain. I had a great and very large room on the first floor. The hotel is traditional in style, the furnishings are not in the latest "hotel Style", more like the 80s/90s style, but that is not to say that the place is not well maintained and clean, I don't mean to imply that the place looked "tired", it didn't. Had a lovely meal in the restaurant, well cooked food, goos sized portions, in fact, I couldn't finish the cheeseboard (unusual for me) The restaurant also seems popular with locals just coming for a meal - always a good sign! The breakfast the next morning was excellent - I have rarely seen a better choice on the menu - not even at 5 star hotels. Most enjoyable stay - I would definitely stay there again if I need to be in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very nice country hotel with varied lunch menu. Food was well cooked and presented. Friendly and helpful bar staff. Close to junction 24 M5 and located in pleasant small town. Well worth a visit - said to do an excellent Sunday lunch

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Breakfast was Fantastic, Plenty of choice with fresh fruit, cereals, croissants and preserves and a range of fruit juices, tea and coffee and cooked breakfast with the usual fried bread, hash brown etc eggs to your liking and must say the scrambled egg was particularly good, will definitely call again when around the area

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank vdub64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Petherton
5.6 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
121 reviews
5 mi away
Admirals Table
Admirals Table
#4 of 5 in Bridgwater
275 reviews
7.9 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Bridgwater M5
Travelodge Bridgwater M5
#5 of 5 in Bridgwater
207 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25
6.6 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#6 of 17 in Taunton
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Walnut Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walnut Tree Hotel

Address: 87 Fore Street, North Petherton TA6 6QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > North Petherton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Petherton
Price Range: $113 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Walnut Tree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Walnut Tree Hotel Somerset, a lovingly restored 18th-century coaching Inn. Tastefully modernised to meet the needs and expectations of the 21st Century. Our bar, Lemon Tree Restaurant and The Bistro are delightfully warm and welcoming, serving mouth watering food for all occasions. A professional environment for conferences and business meetings. We have vast experience arranging functions from small meetings to large corporate events. We have six individual rooms and groups of 2-100 are welcome. From Sunday lunch to hosting your Wedding, The Walnut Tree Hotel in Somerset can cater for all. The Walnut Tree Hotel near Bridgwater and Taunton in Somerset is the ideal venue for your break. Whether you intend touring the area and visiting Exmoor or The Quantocks, it makes the ideal base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Walnut Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing