We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new years eve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Walnut Tree Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Petherton
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“new years eve”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had a great time at this hotel on new years a eve, everyone was very helpful & friendly from the moment we checked in till the moment we checked out, the meal was delicious, the waiters & waitress were polite & unobtrusive they couldn't do enough for us, the hotel put on casino evening & even supplied the chips no cash prizes but i did win a bottle of wine, this was our first time of staying at the hotel although we had been before with friends for a meal, we will definitely go again, the room we had was fabulous couldn't fault it, plenty of choice at breakfast, looking forward to new years eve 2013

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pam1966_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    94
    27
    16
    12
See reviews for
45
84
13
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here with a group of collegues for a two day course and overnight stay the meeting room we had was excellent air conditioned with fresh drinks bought in as required and the buffet lunch we had each day was superb .Now to the evening meal what a choice and the food is cooked brilliantly with my steak cooked to perfection.The breakfast was a delight in itself . The room I had was well equipped and also had wifi throughout the hotel . I would reccomend this hotel for work and pleasure

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lordtrigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We spent a week at the Walnut Tree over Christmas and it was geat. The staff were unbelievably caring and went out of their way to be helpful. The rooms were very spacious and warm and the bar and restaurants were also great. Food was good too (except for desserts at Xmas Lunch whch were more Iceland than culinary expertise. Breakfasts were varied with the Geat British Breakfast or croissants and fruit etc.
The only real complaint about the restaurant food was not the quality, which was great but that the choices were a bit limited, especially if you stayed a long time. However there is a cracking Indian across the road and only 4 miles to Bridgewater which has a couple of good places. This place is well located for touring beautiful North Somerset. Try it!

Room Tip: All rooms looked equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeBloor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is our first stay at The Walnut Tree Hotel. First impressions were good and we were greeted by a friendly receptionist who checked us in. The room was large and had everything we needed including a hairdryer, trouser press, ironing board with iron, tea and coffee making facilities and a large flat screen TV. The rooms were a bit tired and the furnishings were a bit dated, chintzy I think would describe it best but it was very clean and had lovely whiter than white towels in the bathroom. The gala dinner was impressive. The food was amazing. I chose the steak and I have to say it was probably the best steak I have had in a long time. All of the staff we came across were so friendly and helpful, they just couldn't do enough for us. We had a quiet nights sleep but didn't like the blankets. A quilt would have been so much better. You were either too hot or too cold and there were just too many layers to sort out! Still these were minor issues. Half way home I discovered that I had left some items of clothing in the rooms wardrobe. The reception staff were very helpful and have packaged up ready to send back to me. All in all a lovely stay, brilliant staff and quality food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesleyjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my sister in law, just one night, a Saturday, we chose this hotel on the internet for it's location as we wanted to go xmas shopping in Taunton but wanted to be outside of the town.

The staff were all really friendly and helpful from the word go, nothing was too much trouble for them, they were happy and smiling as well as hard working. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. We had a gorgeous twin room, large, well decorated with everything we needed, big bathroom all again very clean and well presented.

We ate in the restaurant on the Saturday evening, the ambiance was just right and the food was superb, we both had three delicious courses, the waiter and waitress were attentive without being in the way, we were well looked after throughout.

Breakfast was again superb, great choice of cooked items all cooked freshly to order as well as fruit, yogurt cereals etc.

I highly recommend the Walnut Tree hotel, if I lived closer to it I would certainly use the restaurant regularly and if I'm that way again and need a hotel it will be my first choice!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornishbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

On check in staff where friendly and really helpful.

We did call reception to ask for an iron and it was supposed to be dropped to the room this never happened - however when mentioned when we arrived back to the hotel (cheekily) - the lovely lady on reception Trish gave us a late check out FOC to make up for it which was very much appreciated.

Overall the hotel was clean, comfortable and staff where great.

Decor is slightly dubious but really not an issue - We would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rharwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I was very supprised to find this hotel only has 3 stars. We were greeted upon our arrival by a very friendly receptionist who made us feel welcome. The room was of a nice size and the standard of cleanliness was excellent, the bed was very comfortable. The only negative would be the bathroom suite is very dated.
In the evening we ate in the bar, sevice was first rate and the food was very good.
After a good nights sleep we were treated to a very nice breakfast again supported by very friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuffymuffet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Petherton
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Bridgwater M5
Travelodge Bridgwater M5
#5 of 6 in Bridgwater
178 reviews
5.6 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
117 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Royal Clarence Hotel
The Royal Clarence Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnham-On-Sea
177 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
813 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Walnut Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walnut Tree Hotel

Property: The Walnut Tree Hotel
Address: 87 Fore Street, North Petherton TA6 6QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > North Petherton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Petherton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Walnut Tree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Walnut Tree Hotel Somerset, a lovingly restored 18th-century coaching Inn. Tastefully modernised to meet the needs and expectations of the 21st Century. Our bar, Lemon Tree Restaurant and The Bistro are delightfully warm and welcoming, serving mouth watering food for all occasions. A professional environment for conferences and business meetings. We have vast experience arranging functions from small meetings to large corporate events. We have six individual rooms and groups of 2-100 are welcome. From Sunday lunch to hosting your Wedding, The Walnut Tree Hotel in Somerset can cater for all. The Walnut Tree Hotel near Bridgwater and Taunton in Somerset is the ideal venue for your break. Whether you intend touring the area and visiting Exmoor or The Quantocks, it makes the ideal base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Walnut Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing