We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a real country pub should be”
Review of Manor Arms

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Manor Arms
Price range: $10 - $30
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“What a real country pub should be”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was our 4th Visit to The Manor Arms, Each time we have been impressed by the homecooked food. The roast on sunday is quite simply delicious, and is head and shouders above most local pubs and resturants in the surrounding area.The greatest surprise is the reasonable cost! The welcome is always warm, with a toasty woodburner, papers to read and a genuine smile from behind the bar. On this visit we took very discerning friends, one of which is a vegetarian, who had a genuinely good choice of main course. None of us were disappointed in the food we were served. The portions were enormous and heartwarming just what you want on a winter's day! I only have two tiny critisiams,, The paper tablecloths, but I think that maybe left over from Valentines night, and the unimaginative vegetables. Otherwise 10/10!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizn732, Owner at Manor Arms, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Many thanks for your review following your visit last weekend. You are perfectly correct - the red paper tablecloths were because we were running our Valentines "do" over that weekend as well. We normally only have polished tables with mats. Vegetable wise in the winter you must appreciate that it is difficult to locally source much more than brassicas and root vegetables but I am sure we can find some more interesting ways to present them. Cheese sauce is a favourite with both our leeks and cauliflower and our chefs' recipe for spicy red cabbage is not to be missed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Greek Night”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

A lovely evening with Julie and her team making a tremendous night for us locals. Great value, and great fun!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank thebuckes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just outside Crewkerne in village of North Perrott. Homely pub with home cooked food. Good selection of items on the menu, specials at affordable prices. Restaurant and bar areas, also welcomes B&B customers. Dog friendly. Good beer.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dusty247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizn732, Owner at Manor Arms, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words - we do so appreciate it when customers take the time to write a review and although few and far between for us, it does make us realise that people do appreciate the proper home cooked food that we offer along with hospitality of a true "village Inn" that has no frills or false pretences!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Pub Grub”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a nice friendly pub with a real fire and home cooked food. There are themed nights for all to join in and the staff and very friendly. A take away service is available.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nat4lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good home cooked food brilliant value for money”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We have eaten at the Manor Arms in North Perrott on a number of occasions when we have been on holiday in the area and have never been disappointed with the meals. There is always a good choice of menu with very generous portions. The Sunday roasts are very popular (booking in advance advisable). The pub has a friendly atmosphere and whenever we visit we feel welcome - we have even joined in with their regular pub quizes which they hold on a regular basis. We would thoroughly recommend this charming village pub when you are next in the area, you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank christine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manor Arms also viewed

Haselbury Plucknett, Crewkerne
Chedington, Dorset
 
Crewkerne, Somerset
Chiselborough, Somerset
 
Crewkerne, Somerset
 

Been to Manor Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing