We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveler rating
26
22
9
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
22
9
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubchoice of real alesbeautiful villagefried breadsouth somersetstayed here for nightsgood nights sleepweddingcharacterfulcrewkernegrahamaccommodationpubs
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 63 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2007

Just returned from a 3 night break.
Room was very nice, a little quirky, but what do you expect in an old inn. The bathroom was very small and dated, but functional.
Generally in need of a little updating.
There was some noise from the public bar, which was directly under our room. Apparently the rooms at the back of the inn are much quieter, so would ask for one of these next time.
The food was fantastic. An interesting selection of dishes for dinner and breakfast was substantial.
Overall a very good valued break, in a beautiful part of the country.
We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bates92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2007

Just back from our 3rd visit to this lovely old inn. As usual the food was exceptional, well cooked good choice . The staff and locals are very friendly and welcoming. Due to a plumbing problem we were upgraded to a 4 poster room in the main inn, whilst this was a lovely room it does suffer from some noise from the road and we do prefer the rooms in the stable block at the rear, this did not in any way detract from our enjoyment of our stay. Incredible value for money and can reccomend it wholeheartily, if you like real ales you will be in heaven here with a choice of 6.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynne47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2006

Had a wonderful time at this hotel, the food is fantastic and the gourmet weekends are real value. There was plenty of choice and everything is home made - including the duck and liver pate which was delicious. The breakfast are full english with fried bread which I haven't been offered in a ong time - then there are cereals, toast etc and as much coffee/tea as you can drink. We couldn't eat anything else for the rest of the day until the delicious food in the evening.

The hotel is a few miles from Lyme Regis and is well placed for exploring Devon, Dorset or Somerset. The staff are very friendly but not "in your face" and the service is excellent.

A couple of points - the locals are very friendly, so if you feel like staying in the bar for the evening then book one of the 4 poster rooms above the actual bar. If you want to go to bed at 10pm then book one of the stable block rooms as these are a little quieter.

The rooms have everythng you would expect, hair drier, coffe/tea, toiletries etc and the rooms are clean. This is a 16th Century pub, so the floor are uneven (which is fun) and some of the decor in the rooms is a little tired but still pleasant - and 16th Century plumbing wasn't that great, so the shower room wasn't huge but was adequate and clean.

We had a great weekend at this pub, £80 per night in a 4 poster with dinner bed and breakfast for 2 people so it really was excellent value for money - would thoroughly recommend it.

Stayed: October 2006
Thank Nettylodian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2006

This pub is in a nice quiet village. Whilst the bedrooms are a little shabby, the bar is pleasant, with good real ales. The food is average barfood, although the menu does use some overly pretentious language (Darne of Salmon - fillet!) The breakfast was good and the staff were attentive. The beneficial effects of all this were undone however by the large cooler beneath the only openable window in our room. At first we mistook the hum for the kitchens aircon and hoped it would go off when the kitchen was closed. It didn't but switched itself on and off all night, becoming progressively louder at times. Whilst we were in deepest quietest Somerset, it sounded like we were on an industrial estate in Slough! After a night of only a few hours spasmodic sleep we complained about this when paying the bill. The owner breezed over our opinions, saying he'd never had a complaint before....Hm!

Stayed: September 2006
1  Thank hjw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2006

we stayed at the Manor House Hotel for 2 nights over a weekend. This is a real gem, wonderfull value for money.The inn itself is oozing with character, log fires,beams ,friendly locals clustered round the bar and a choice of 8 real ales. The room are very comfortable warm and clean,we stayed in the coach house adjacent which was literally 10 paces from the bar door, the shower rooms are clean and adequate, although a little small and possible needed some updating. The food was top class, good wholesome well cooked food beautifully presented,and a good choice. The breakfast was equally as good. The staff are very friendly especially Liz the manageress who is welcoming friendly and professional. We paid an unbeleivable £156 per couple for 2 nights Dinner Bed and Breakfast!
The area surrounding the village is very pretty and you are near to Lyme Regis Dorchester Clarks Village and lots of other pretty villages. We will certainly be going back to this lovely hotel/inn

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorthStar36575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews