We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice small hotel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Langford Budville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amchara Health Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Falmouth, Cornwall
Level Contributor
58 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Very nice small hotel”
Reviewed September 9, 2006

This hotel is somewhat hard to find (well into the rural outskirts of Wellington) and curiously located next to a Christmas tree farm down a long rough gravel drive.

We got a reasonably good room rate of £145 DBB for one of their garden-facing rooms, and were very pleased with everything overall. Public areas very good, nice wood panelled bar etc. Our room was quite large and plush. Bathroom was somewhat more basic and was carpeted (a personal pet hate of mine in any hotel anywhere).

Food is excellent, gardens very pleasant. (There is a sadly neglected walled garden adjacent to the ornamental gardens which would be so lovely if restored, though I guess it would probably serve no real function).

We were staying here as it served as a good staging post for a longer holiday, I'm not sure that you could regard it as a destination in its own right however, as there's not much to do (outdoor pool and tennis court apart).

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
Thank booksearch22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    30
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
12
18
72
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2006

Stayed here for a wedding in Wellington. Room was comfortable with good bathroom and nice Molton Brown toiletries. Excellent facilities with swimming pool and tennis court, well stocked bar and restaurant.

Staff all very courteous, food at breakfast good, especially the pastries.

Only slight nag was the fire alarm going off early in the morning but we were compensated with a complimentary bottle of champagne.

Would we stay again, Yes.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WorldExplorer84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 18, 2006

We only stayed one night in this lovely hotel but would have liked to have stayed longer. We have a two year old son so were concerned that he may not have been welcome in this rather traditional hotel but we could not have been more wrong. He had a fantastic time in the outdoor pool and jumping on the trampoline in the grounds. There is also a swing as well as lots of ball games to play with. He loved it although obviously we were lucky that the weather was good. Rain would certainly have made entertaining him more difficult.

The hotel staff were very friendly and provided both a cot and a baby monitoring service whilst we had dinner in the restaurant. The food was very good and the chocolate pudding with hot chocolate sauce was divine!

Thank you Bindon House for a wonderful stay. We hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 15, 2006

We had our wedding breakfast here in October 2005. It was fantastic. We ate in a beautiful private dining room. The food was superb and the service throughout was second to none. We stayed in Busaco with a four poster bed. They scattered rose petals across the room which was a lovely touch. I can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2006

fantastic hotel, traditionally english decor, lovely wood panelled bar/drawing room, beautiful rooms, intimate hotel with only 12 rooms yet the staff aren't overly attentive therefore making you feel uncomfortable - the rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated - food was superb, great attention to detail - bed turned down while you are at dinner and molton brown gift left on your pillow! A 5 star hotel - highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Uk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2005

Bindon is nothing short of superb. Two lounges give it a true country house feel, each of the bedrooms is different but none are bad. Can personally recommend Buscao, with its massive four poster bed and roll top bath; and Rolica, right at the front of the house, a huge, light and airy room with a bathroom bigger than some bedrooms I've seen!

The food here is excellent, the staff friendly and helpful without being obtrusive (fresh drinks arriving just as we drained the dregs of the last ones always impresses) and the peace and tranquility of the setting most welcome. And all less than 20 minutes from the M5!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amchara Health Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amchara Health Retreat

Property: Amchara Health Retreat
Address: Langford Budville, Langford Budville TA21 0RU, England (Formerly Bindon Country House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Langford Budville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Langford Budville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amchara Health Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amchara is an integrated health retreat located at Bindon Country House in West Somerset.Amchara specialises in helping people who either wish to detox or are looking for an integrated positive alternative to a variety of health challenges. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bindon Country House Hotel Langford Budville
Bindon Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing