We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Detox week”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Langford Budville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amchara Health Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I took my daughter here for help with her diet and to lose some weight myself. We had the most relaxing and enjoyable time even though we only had juice for the whole week.
We were never bored as there are plenty of things to do and great company.
The staff were wonderful, caring and very knowledgeable.
On the day of leaving all came to say goodbye and good luck. We left lighter and feeling great!
Ok its not the ritz but its a lovely house in the country with open fires and wonderfuly homely feel
which is perfect to relax in.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleSandFairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 154 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

Wonderful, fantastic. Wish i had done this years ago. Will definitely go back. I feel like i am in my twenties again. Amchara, thank you so much. I no longer let food dominate my life, bye bye to process food and red meat. I didn't realise vegetables could taste so good. My fridge's now packed with vegetables. To all the staff at Amchara, a massive thank you. xxxx

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mdrew170763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I had a life changing stay and can not recommend it more highly. The house is perfect for the detox, comforting and private with large indoor and outdoor spaces to roam. The staff are on top of their game all bringing a wealth of knowledge and intelligence to the detox. In particular noelle the yoga teacher was exceptional both in teaching and in caring for the detoxes. Throughout my week many decided to extend their stay to 2/3 weeks as they immediately realised what an incredible place they had landed up in. In fact there were a few long stayers, ie over a month who were undergoing life transformations and getting their health back. It was wonderful to see. I will definitely be returning and have managed with their help to extend my detox for a week on my return to home. If family commitments were not pressing I would have extended my stay. If you are looking to regain your vitality and learn a new healthy way of life book now.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Georgie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I spent a week at Amchara on the juice detox. I had a great time and really enjoyed my experience. The juices were delicious and the yoga classes and tai chi were excellent. I was never bored and never hungry! The staff really make it special and are very caring, nothing is too much trouble for them. I lost 8 pounds and gained lots of energy, but more than that I've changed the way I think about food and have no doubt that I will carry on with raw food to improve my health. I'd recommend this place to anyone looking to detox, reset and relax. It's not a 5* spa but I think it's great value for money and has everything you need.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammy_Dee1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I decided to visit Amchara on my own after a particularly tough year – I just needed some time for myself, to get my head together. So, on the advice of my boss, I took two weeks off work, and checked myself in for the 14-day detox programme.

I am not going to lie and say that the process was a simple, or even pleasant one; however, without being overly dramatic, I came out a completely changed person. The detox, fasting and weight loss elements of the retreat are just a fraction of the benefits and education they offer. With the help of the professional and patient staff, who always put my needs first, I was able to work through issues, and see things clearly for the first time in a long while.

The relaxed nature of Amchara allows a shift in pace to occur – before you know it, you feel calmer, slower, and the hectic stress heaped on your shoulders just seems to drift away. I made good use of the activities, thoroughly enjoying in yoga and pilates several times a day, and the beautiful countryside surroundings provided me with some breath-taking winter walks.

The detox programme was difficult for me, and in the beginning, I struggled with extreme tiredness, low mood, and horrible headaches. However, I persevered, and after four days, I began to notice a change – the haggard, gaunt look had gone, replaced with bright eyes and healthy complexion.

I take with me a unique experience – one that will stay with me forever. I am indebted to the staff at Amchara for their kindness and genuine concern, and for giving me a chance to get things back on track - thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Zoe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I have never stayed in such a relaxing, calm and tranquil environment. It is not state of the art with all mod cons, but it has everything you could possibly need to make your stay very comfortable. The bed was very comfortable - never slept so well! The log fires in the evenings were delightful to sit around. The house is also in the most wonderful surroundings which lend itself to some excellent walks.

It was an experience that changed my whole outlook on life - highly recommend a stay here with Amchara if you need to chill out, relax and re-balance your life.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I recently had terrible experience with this retreat. I actually decided to go there seeing their impressive line-up of recommendations. However, when I got there, it was a shabby house. My room was filthy, full of dust and cobwebs, the heating didn't work - the list can go on forever. Above all, the retreat treated my situation carelessly (although they were informed about it prior to the booking), ending up unable to deliver the detox program they sold me.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Lena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amchara Health Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amchara Health Retreat

Address: Langford Budville, Langford Budville TA21 0RU, England (Formerly Bindon Country House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Langford Budville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Langford Budville
Price Range: $160 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amchara Health Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amchara is an integrated health retreat located at Bindon Country House in West Somerset.Amchara specialises in helping people who either wish to detox or are looking for an integrated positive alternative to a variety of health challenges. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bindon Country House Hotel Langford Budville
Bindon Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing