We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Langford Budville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amchara Health Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I recently had terrible experience with this retreat. I actually decided to go there seeing their impressive line-up of recommendations. However, when I got there, it was a shabby house. My room was filthy, full of dust and cobwebs, the heating didn't work - the list can go on forever. Above all, the retreat treated my situation carelessly (although they were informed about it prior to the booking), ending up unable to deliver the detox program they sold me.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Lena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    26
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
12
18
68
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kabul
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I took the plunge and went on a 7 day retreat over 2014 new years. Detox was never going to be easy, but the lovely surroundings, company and helpful staff really made the journey worthwhile and enjoyable. Food demo was great, as were the walks in the countryside. And a lovely open fire. Next step is to keep it up, but I would certainly recommend the experience. Even my choice of a shared room (with someone who was a stranger) so that I could save some money worked out well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lidilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Detox after Christmas,just what the doctor ordered!...or at least that's what they should have ordered. For years I have been ill and no antibiotic was helping me then after a 7 day detox at Amchara i feel amazing! all my niggling symptoms gone, my prescription unused so it seems even my ulcer has healed.My fiancée came (really as support for me) and we quickly realised how much she needed it too! If you immerse yourself into the program and really go for it the results are astounding! Weight loss a bonus (20 pounds in my case) but not the only reason you should try this,you learn so much and reach a place you never knew was there,so much energy! A big shout for Kirsty amazing natural doctor,if you lucky enough to have Kirsty on her shift when you stay then I recommend the health mentoring it really helps! But all the people were great at Amchara and I will be returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johncoronado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croxley Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a relatively new health retreat, and people come here for two main reasons: 1) to lose weight and 2) to try to reverse diabetes. It is run by Justin & Karen Williams with vitally important input from Rhaya Jordan (naturopath) who supervises the diabetes regime and Dr Nyjon Eccles, who visits the diabetics and casts a beady eye over blood tests etc. there are yoga and Tai Chi instructors, and massage and other therapies are also available. Those attending for weight loss will go on fasts, but the diabetics eat a diet of fresh raw food.
I spent 2 weeks tackling diabetes. After a few days I was able to cease medication altogether. Rhaya is simply tremendous in every way - knowledgable, sensitive, and constantly encouraging, while being blessed with a brilliant sense of humour. I was also happy with all the other therapists - they're all lovely people and really good at what they do. The building is quite lovely in a traditional way and breathes Victoriana, and the gardens are lovely too. You will enjoy walking in the surrounding countryside.
I could be picky and comment that my bathroom could do with an update, and there are one or two other matters that might feel a bit clunky, but any problems are handled promptly and with friendliness and it feels churlish to moan about anything when so much is great and perhaps even life-changing.

Room Tip: If you want a bright room, try for one at the front of the house. WiFi may be a bit haphazard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Chrismusic01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Went for a detox and rest for 2 weeks. Lost 12.0Kg in those two weeks and met some wonderful people, both other guest and staff.

I would say - excellent, wonderful and smiling, helpful, knowledgeable staff. Recommend it to all. Amchra, BIG Thank You.

Home now and still following you advice and its working.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlexM618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We booked Bindon House for a 40th birthday party fri - monday with 22 guests. All I can say is that everything was perfect from the house and grounds to the staff. Lyn (the Manager) was extremely helpful even before we came and helped us organise everything. Matt and Alex was great serving and hosting etc and gave us the right amount of attention letting us get on with the party but being there when needed.
Nothing was too much trouble.
The rooms were all of a good standard and had everything we needed. We had all of our meals cooked for us by Mike who kept up the experience to the highest level.
I can highly recommend Bindon House and we are already looking to the next time we can come to stay (hopefully Christmas 2013)

Thank you to you all x

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex-james40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The house was just wonderful for a houseparty of about 30 people. There were plenty of rooms and facilities which meant that everyone was able to relax, play sport, or just generally enjoy the ambience of the place. The staff were very helpful and supportive.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langford Budville
2.9 mi away
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fitzhead Inn
Fitzhead Inn
#5 of 55 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Old Dairy at Bishops Barton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Exmoor Gate Lodges
Exmoor Gate Lodges
#2 of 4 in Waterrow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Amchara Health Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amchara Health Retreat

Property: Amchara Health Retreat
Address: Langford Budville, Langford Budville TA21 0RU, England (Formerly Bindon Country House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Langford Budville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Langford Budville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amchara Health Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amchara is an integrated health retreat located at Bindon Country House in West Somerset.Amchara specialises in helping people who either wish to detox or are looking for an integrated positive alternative to a variety of health challenges. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bindon Country House Hotel Langford Budville
Bindon Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing