We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveler rating
147
14
1
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
147
14
1
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscauliflower cheesesunday lunchlemon possetthe pubopening nightperfect eveningthe sticky toffee puddingaranciniexcellent roastsuperb food and serviceamazing pubstaying nearbylamb rumphaddocksuperb mealexcellent menumajor refurbishment
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 169 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2017 via mobile

Under new management now perfect blend of village pub, hotel and restaurant. Great kids menu and the burger is awesome. Friendly staff and locals at the bar.

New feature is artisan gins that make the wife happy.

Note that some of the previous comments have been about old owners. Come and try the all new improved Hood!

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank albiesefton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017

Well what can be said....except absolutely amazing. My wife and I went to a birthday party here on Saturday, and expecting the normal "party food" that is normally served at a party, well we were somewhat surprised. No Sausage rolls, no dried cucumber, lettuce or tomato, just the most wonderful food ever. Salmon, Mackerel, Beef, Ham homemade Coronation Chicken, beautiful roast potatoes, and the desserts were to die for. And finally, the hospitality from ALL the staff was FIRST CLASS. Looking forward to going there for a meal next time.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Squashbertha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2017

We visited The Hood Arms as part of an overnight stay in Kilve to walk on The Quantocks; we wouldn't have booked a B & B in the village if we hadn't had the option of a pub meal available & luckily saw this pub was under new ownership. Our B & B owner indicated how much the village is looking forward to having a good, friendly pub again.

We were made to feel incredibly welcome by the landlady/landlord & the waiting staff were friendly, keen, cheerful & polite. Loved the decor which has managed to combine the character of the old building with a more modern look. The food we had was delicious; the halloumi burger made a nice change for a vegetarian option & the lemon posset was scrumptious.

Suggestions for the future might be an itemised food bill & a wine list with prices. Nonetheless we would love to return & would recommend staying in the village, walking from Holford or along the coast & having a well deserved drink & meal at The Hood Arms afterwards!

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Goldilocks2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2017

Newly renovated throughout The Hood Arms has reopened & it was well worth the wait. We went for a family meal & were not disappointed at all. The pub looks fantastic both inside & out. A huge amount of work has gone into making this venue a good choice for a relaxing meal.
The food was excellent, all homemade, very fresh & served in good time. All three courses were perfect. Will have to revisit as choosing what to have was tough, so will work our way through in the coming months. Absolutely superb.
A warm welcome & amazing service from the entire team working.
Many thanks.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2017

all credit to THE HOOD ARMS for such a wonderful meal and all credit to all the staff ,for making it a wonderful night for our wedding anniversary ,long may it continue,such a lovely welcome when we arrived,and through the night,long may it continue

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrenG1537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews