We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”
Review of The Hood Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hood Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Kilve B&B and Inns
somerset
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

After a nice walk on the quantocks we booked a table at this local pub and found a gem. It is not very often that you can find good food and good friendly service in one establishment nowadays. From the moment we walked in we were greeted and shown to our table by friendly staff who obviously enjoyed working there. For starters I had mussels followed by sea bass on a bed of crayfish with risotto. (a dream) Cheese board followed which consisted of local cheeses. The difficult thing about dining here is what to choose from the very good menu. I will be going back to sample the Duck or maybe the steak. A must for all good food lovers

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willowben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    53
    26
    17
    21
See reviews for
53
118
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten in the restaurant several times over the years but as we have two dogs are always on the look out for dog friendly places which the bar area is.

Booked Sunday Lunch and found the food good although the beef could have been a little less chewy.

Our dogs were made welcome although they are still a little nervous if too many people and will bark a little.

Good meal in nice surroundings and will be back with the dogs again to try the regular bar menu.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank keithowen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We booked this as a stop-off from Shropshire to Cornwall. Needed to be dog friendly and with real ale and good food. It ticked all those boxes! We arrived mid afternoon and on entering the pub were made welcome by the barman and shown the room. The entrance from the pub to the hotel is a bit of a disappointment as it is nearly to the kitchen then careful around the stairlift and up the stairs.... but the room was very comfy if a little dated (avocado suite!). Now this particular room was above the bar and you could hear everything being spoken downstairs. However the pub shut at 11 and the staff didn't clatter and bash around after that, so it wasn't an issue to us but might be if you want to get an early night.

Beer was excellent - 3 local real ales on hand pumps. Food was good - not cheap, more like upper end pub/low end restaurant prices, but were enjoyed (although you need to serve cranberry or a fruit chutney with the camembert starter really). Good quality and hot, fresh and filling. Dont know where the black pudding was at breakfast though (it was on the menu!)

Dog was allowed in the bar, and we sat for a couple of hours in comfy armchairs by the fire too.

Staff were pleasant and efficient. We didn't find them over friendly - nobody bothered to ask where we were from, where we were going, had we slept well, had we enjoyed our stay, or make a fuss of the dog.... so whilst pleasant, businesslike and amiable I felt perhaps a little more friendliness would have been nice. When checking out it was pleasant and efficient but no 'have a safe journey' or cheery goodbye. Little things that mean so much and make a difference. But please don't think the staff weren't helpful and attentive as they were. Bar staff were very quick to serve too.

For what we paid, it was top end price really, but we would come back here on the way to Cornwall again, so that says it all. There is a lot to recommend this pub, just felt a little more attentiveness to detail would turn a good pub into a great pub.

Room Tip: Enquire about rooms that are not above the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominic E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Was recommended to stop her for lunch after a heavy morning sitting in on Wedding plans at nearby St Audries. The building is lovely and so are all the lovely nick knacks placed around the pub/restaurant. It is spacious and clean and staff wonderful...however I can only presume the chef was having a bit of a bad day.. The fish was overcooked, peas warm and chips slightly under cooked. The lamb burger was Ok..ish warm rather than hot..the chips on this plate were overcooked. 2 coffees, 1 orange and lemonade ...£25....not bad but not brilliant either. Would have commented at the time to the owner but we were in a rush as had a loooong drive ahead of us and a time schedule to adhere to. Might try it again on another day to see if we were just unlucky.

Room Tip: very little parking on the front of the pub side streets not suitable for big cars to park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jasicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have called in for coffee or light lunch several times over the years and it has changed hands a couple of times and has lots of character with fox hunting memorabelia and old local photos. We went here last summer for an 80th birthday lunch and were so impressed we called in yesterday for sunday lunch on the way to Minehead. Very reasonably priced, good quality meat with about nine different veg. We had no room left for dessert!
Great for a meal or just a drink sat by the fire in a comfy chair reading the many newspapers and magazines on the coffee table!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We intended to drop in for a passing visit, loved the ambiance and welcome so much that we returned the next day for Sunday lunch and booked in on the spot for a really relaxing 2 night break! This pub, which is full of character, is on the doorstep of beautiful beaches, the Quantocks, and an abundance of footpaths passing stunning scenery. We thoroughly enjoyed the luxury of our beautiful room and a yummy selection of delicious food - the venison was delicious. The staff were really nice and John was a great host who knows the local area well. We look forward to returning very soon and highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

On a more refined boys night out, we went to The Hood Arms on recommendation of one of our party of 5. A welcoming pub with log burner and quaint bar, it has a lot of charm.

The menu looked good with some exciting specials on the board. I was a little disappointed that, on a Saturday night at 7.30, many of the specials had been wiped off already. Never mind, what was left still sounded good.

A difficult choice between the seared pigeon breasts or the scallops in a Thai sauce and a toss up between the rib eye steak and duck two ways (confit and half a duck breast) was made and I eagerly awaited my scallops and duck. More scallops, soup (tuna carpaccio was off), chicken liver parfait and mushroom crostini were the other choices for starter by my friends followed by fish and chips, venison, steak and ham, egg and chips to compete with my duck.

The scallops were steamed rather than pan fried and had not been seared fast enough. However, I love scallops and the flavour was good. The same was not true of the soup which lacked depth (said one friend). The chicken live parfait was given a pass as was the mushroom crostini. So OK rather than good or very good for the starters.

Onto the mains. These took quite a long time coming with no update from the bar or waiting staff. When they arrived, my duck confit (which I usually absolutely love) just tasted old. The skin wasn't crisp and the edges were tough and not the melting texture I was expecting. The duck breast was good but there was not enough of the excellent cabbage (supposed to be Savoy but was white so I doubt it was) with the damson and port jus. I could have eaten much more of this rather than the confit! Similar comments were made for the other mains. Fish batter overcooked but the fish itself was nice, the venison was pleasant and the ham eggs and chips was also good but not great. The biggest disappointment was the steak which was thin, small and consequently overcooked to medium rather than rare as requested. The wording of the menu had promised much but did not fully deliver which was a shame.

Nevertheless, the point of the evening was the company rather than the food and some good beer and banter was rounded off with a game of bar billiards in the nice ambience of the bar. We were happy and full but I wanted to be raving about this place. In terms of value for money, if they had got it right, it would have been great value. Unfortunately it was, sadly, only average. Happy to give it a second chance though...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KashBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilve
2.0 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
5.1 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
115 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Combe House Hotel
Combe House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Holford
683 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Old House
The Old House
#1 of 6 in Nether Stowey
138 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cherry Orchard House
Cherry Orchard House
#2 of 3 in West Quantoxhead
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hood Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hood Arms

Property: The Hood Arms
Address: Pardlestone Lane, Kilve TA5 1EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Kilve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kilve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hood Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hood Arms is a beautifully furnished 17th century inn with orginal oak beams, natural stone walls, and open fireplaces. We are located at the foot of the Quantock hills and just one mile from Kilve's 'moonscape' beach. There are 12 comfortable, fully equipped en suite guest bedrooms which have been rated AA 4 stars. Our restaurant enjoys an excellent reputation far and wide, and guests are able to relax in our cosy bar or, during the summer months, in our large pretty garden. We are aware that we have had some negative comments posted on tripadvisor in recent months. We would like to assure you that the vast majority of our customers are very happy with their stay but we have reviewed these comments seriously and are genuinely working hard to make improvements. Why don't you try it and see for yourself? We guanrantee to do our very best to make your stay an enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hood Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hood Arms Hotel Kilve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing