We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food , friendly service , 1st class pub , which isn't a chain , wish we lived around the corner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hood Arms

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Hood Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Kilve B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food , friendly service , 1st class pub , which isn't a chain , wish we lived around the corner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We goggled a pub in that area where we could take our very well behaved dog . I poped in to book a table . Very friendly and helpful !
We had the Sunday roast , which I can honestly say was the best pub roast I have had . Good quality beef , lovely veg and beautiful flavoured gravey .
Not the cheapest but well worth it , felt I was eating fresh food .
The staff couldn't be more helpful .

Toilets were very clean too
We will return as lovely walks and get little find of a pub , next time we will take our friends

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bleadonbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    52
    25
    17
    20
See reviews for
43
109
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

had 2 nights in the stag lodge over new year - lovely accomodation clean and spacious lovely comfy bed and pillows. we have also stayed in the hotel and it was just as good but opted for the lodge to be able to chill out in front of the fire etc. and have more room. it was fabulous - john the landlord is a fabulous host and makes all feel very welcome as did his wife. the food in the restaurant was brilliant - we ate both nights and could find no fault at all - compliments to the chef !! overall would thoroughly recommend a stay here and we will be going back later in the year and possible stay next new year as well !

Room Tip: our friends had the room called cornflower - we had stag lodge outside in the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daisydunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Three of us ordered the Beef rib roast for lunch. The vegetables were fine, but the meat was just a plate full of gristle, fat and if there was any meat, tough. It was an appalling plate full of food and don't understand how a good chef could let 3 plates of that stuff out of the kitchen. Following our complaint, we were told that the chef had stopped carving that particular roast and had started on a new one. Over the years we have dined there a lot and have always had a good meal. Shame, we won't risk spending our money there again and have told friends to be wary of the roast rib.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TACUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REDDITCH WORCERSHIRE ENGLAND
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Nicky & John are excellent hosts.
We stayed at Dove Cottage, which was fabulous. Visited the pub twice, once for lunch time drink and the other on an evening for a meal.
We ate in the bar as we had our dog with us, we were extremely happy with the regular menu as well as the daily specials. Not just your run of the mill pub food. I had a starter of beef carpaccio which was very nice, and we both had pheasant, the portions were very good with nice fresh veg. The wine menu is also very sufficient and we had a great white Rioja. All in all a lovely place, very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chady2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

I have visited this pub twice on monday nights in November and December when most other local pubs have been very quiet or indeed shut.I visited on both occasions with my mother and were looking for a pub where there was some conversation and friiendly welcome ,we weren't disappointed.the landlord was sat at the bar on both occasions and we were made to feel very welcome and included in conversation with others at the Bar.
We ate on both occasions in the bar and I can particularly recomend the Pheasant which I had on both visits, but there were daily specials available in addition to the standard menu.There is a selection of three real ales including a strong Otter beer which was well kept.
We will definately visit again, it is dog friendly and there are excellent walks from the pub on the hills or coast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adrian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We spent one night with our small dog here. After I had booked I thought I would read the other reviews and which point I panicked....oh well too late now. All I can say is there must have been a clash of personality or something. We found our hoast and his wife really polite and helpful and our dog was treated like home from home. The bed was comfy the room clean as was the bathroom. There was a spider at the top of the four poster bed but then there is a spider at the top of our four poster bed too so it was a home from home sort of place. A 17C building is not going to be without it's little guests after all so wingers get over the odd bit of damp in the hall or a dead fly on the window. This is the countryside after all. Anyway the food was very good and not expensive, excellent muscles in cider and top notch saddle of venison. I hate being away from home but my husband and I had an excellent stay here we both slept like logs and ate far too much. Look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: It is on a busy road so ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liza D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watchet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Good food and great service in a good old traditional coaching inn setting. Dog friendly so expect lots of furry friends in the bar. Booking advisable due to it's popularity. Nice range of real ales, cider and wine.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Squawk66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilve
2.0 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
1.0 mi away
Combe House Hotel
Combe House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Holford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Old Cider House
The Old Cider House
#2 of 6 in Nether Stowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Old House
The Old House
#1 of 6 in Nether Stowey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
2.3 mi away
St Audries Bay Holiday Club
St Audries Bay Holiday Club
#1 of 2 in West Quantoxhead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cherry Orchard House
Cherry Orchard House
#3 of 3 in West Quantoxhead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hood Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hood Arms

Property: The Hood Arms
Address: Pardlestone Lane, Kilve TA5 1EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Kilve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kilve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hood Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hood Arms is a beautifully furnished 17th century inn with orginal oak beams, natural stone walls, and open fireplaces. We are located at the foot of the Quantock hills and just one mile from Kilve's 'moonscape' beach. There are 12 comfortable, fully equipped en suite guest bedrooms which have been rated AA 4 stars. Our restaurant enjoys an excellent reputation far and wide, and guests are able to relax in our cosy bar or, during the summer months, in our large pretty garden. We are aware that we have had some negative comments posted on tripadvisor in recent months. We would like to assure you that the vast majority of our customers are very happy with their stay but we have reviewed these comments seriously and are genuinely working hard to make improvements. Why don't you try it and see for yourself? We guanrantee to do our very best to make your stay an enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hood Arms Hotel Kilve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing