We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ilminster”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Ilminster
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horton
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Recently refurbished Ilminster Travelodge is now excellent. In the past the furniture and bedding had let down the excellent location and service, now it offers a super place to stay whilst visiting family.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 277 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

Just be warned that Travelodge will routinely overbook their hotels. This means that if everyone turns up and you are the last to check in then you will not get your room. Are you prepared to risk that?

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank 001001001010101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Ilminster, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thank you for your review 001001001010101. On rare occasions we do have unexpected take up of arrivals at our hotels. Our hotel staff are fully trained on how to deal with such situations and will always reduce the impact by informing the customer beforehand and by finding alternative accommodation as close by the hotel as possible, we will then cover the cost of any additional travel expenses.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

this had to be one of the best travelodges we have stayed in, the new beds and bedding were excellent, and the little chef next door was very nice, plenty of parking too, we would recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

If you choose the Illminster Travelodge do not accept room 114. The extractor fan from the restaurant is just outside the window. It is very noisy and smelly and we had to have the window open as the room was so hot. The refurbishment of this Travelodge seems to have down-graded the rooms. Although the bed was comfortable, the room was clean etc. there was no where to put your suitcase except the floor. There were no comfy chairs or sofa to sit on and the TV was small and wasn't even widescreen.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank June D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed at this Travelodge for a couple of nights in June, Firstly - the positives. Location is good and convenient. Ample car park space, adjacent Little Chef restaurant/ Burger King - also a Shell garage with limited supplies of snacks etc.
As for the hotel itself - its a "re furbished" Travelodge. That means brighter rooms, better beds etc. The room itself was of a good size, bathroom adequate.
Some minor issues with cleaning / housekeeping - the bathroom had clearly not been cleaned fully on check in - there was a distinct edge of dust around the perimeter of the floor, and I found the plastic cover of a razor in the floor, when I stood on it!

I was interested to note from a previous review that reception offered a fan for the rooms - if I had only known that! The room was very hot - as was the weather - throughout my stay, and this would have been very welcome. Please - when its hot and stuffy - make fans complimentary, not optional. The windows only have the usual restricted opening, for fresh air ventilation.

Now - if you are thinking of taking advantage of Wi -Fi ( payable, although I can never understand why ), be aware. Its slow, and the room I was in really struggled to get reception. I had to pop out into the corridor to get re connected, frequently. Not acceptable really,
I have emailed Travelodge about this - sadly, no response. Disappointing. Interestingly - reception staff let it slip that they have issues themselves with Wi - Fi connectivity.
Overall - a reasonable Travelodge. Could easily be a brilliant Travelodge with just a few remedial touches.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mel.w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed here for one night as a stopover on our way somewhere else. The check in was extremely quick and not the most friendly. The room was basic and not very clean, hairs on toilet, and under bed not hoovered, the shelf above the coat hangers had not been dusted in a long time! It was very warm and if we had our window open you could hear people talking below. I would say its fine for one night but no more.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steffi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Convenient location and easy to find. Dissappointed with reception staff as they were either not there when you checked in or quite offhand at checkout. Rooms basic and fairly clean but I found hair on the clean towels, dust on the toilet roll holder and toothpaste on the tiles. Giving the cleaner the benefit of the doubt, she may just have had an off day as the rest of the room was fine. The public areas of the hotel left much to be desired as the carpets had mud on them and spilled drinks on the stairs. There is a Burger King and a Little Chef next door which gives 10% discount to customers of Travellodge but make sure you take the voucher with you as they no longer give the discount if you only present the key. The new beds are extremely comfortable as are the pillows but I personally find the Duvets too warm.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horton
0.9 mi away
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
4.5 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Chard
345 reviews
4.1 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Travelodge Yeovil Podimore
0.8 mi away
The George at Donyatt
The George at Donyatt
#9 of 11 in Ilminster
82 reviews
1.0 mi away
Woodleigh Bed & Breakfast
Woodleigh Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 11 in Ilminster
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Ilminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Ilminster

Address: A303, Southfield Roundabout, Horton, Ilminster TA19 9PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Ilminster > Horton
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horton
Price Range: $48 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Travelodge Ilminster 1.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Ilminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Ilminster Hotel Horton Cross
Travel Lodge Horton Cross
Travelodge Horton Cross
Horton Cross Travel Lodge
Horton Cross Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing