We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“should have stayed more nights” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Five Dials Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Five Dials Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Horton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
south coast
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“should have stayed more nights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Wonderful warm welcome at this lovely local pub that caters for tourists, too. We were shown to a very nice clean room and it had everything we needed, as we were at the end of a 10 day journey with loads of luggage. We were advised to book the last table in the restaurant and the fish selection was excellent, brought up from Brixham every day, apparently. Super grub, very good ale, lovely breakfast and all at a bargain price. We should have moved here the day before at least, as our previous destination in Wells was not the best we have had....we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesgandolfini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    31
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
38
74
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We arrived on a Friday afternoon, shown to a very clean and spacious bedroom. The pub has a lovely atmosphere and decorated to a very high standard. We had booked a table a couple of weeks before, thank goodness, as nearly every table was reserved for that evening. The food was absolutely fantastic, with a specials board of fresh fish delivered daily. We had a lovely breakfast of locally sourced bacon and sausage, which was cooked to perfection. I would highly recommend the Five Dials and will be visiting again.

Room Tip: No problems booking a room, just remember to book a table for the evening meal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flower_lady111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I had to attend a family event in the summer and was looking for a nice place to stay. Having stayed near this pub before, it looked inviting so I booked two nights for my daughters and myself. It exceeded my expectations and was a delightful place to stay - very friendly and comfortable. The rooms were extremely clean and well decorated. The owners were welcoming and the breakfasts delicious. We also had a meal one evening which was very good quality and we took our pudding outside to the garden - a lovely place to sit. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Excellent hosts. Arrived late - well after they had finished serving supper, but were offered a very welcome light meal which was lovely.
Rooms were spotless, breakfast very nice and a beautiful little courtyard area at the rear.
A lovely, friendly area (one local resident went out of her way to drive in front of us to find the Inn). Ideal for a short stop during a journey.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireBeany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richhill northern ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

arrived to be met with a smile by sarah,and the smile was always there for the two nights we stayed.the room was outstanding,wet room shower,the breakfast was all locally sourced and it showed.cant praise it enough.the bar was run by paul who served a great pint of local bitter and cider. had a meal as well ,first class. ten out of ten for me and my wife.

Room Tip: just book all rooms fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
295 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

very clean and relatively quiet since it’s also a pub. The bathroom was quite large, too. Food good and certainly worth eating there, both the dinner and breakfast. We only stayed one night but it was lovely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

I recently stayed three night with my girlfriend as a get away, on arrival Sarah and Paul where very pleasent and welcoming, our room was well decorated with a really hot power shower, the food was outstanding, with really cheerful staff, it was a shame that we had to leave but I'm hoping one day I can return to such an amazing place,
Thankyou Sarah and Paul for the experience you have gave us both

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattHodges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horton
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel
3.7 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Shave Farm
Shave Farm
#1 of 13 in Ilminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Square & Compass Inn
Square & Compass Inn
#4 of 13 in Ilminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
3.6 mi away
New Inn
New Inn
#6 of 13 in Ilminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
2.5 mi away
Duke of York
Duke of York
#5 of 13 in Ilminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Five Dials Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Five Dials Inn

Property: The Five Dials Inn
Address: Goose Lane | Horton, Horton, Ilminster TA19 9QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Ilminster > Horton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Horton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Five Dials Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Five Dials Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 5 Dials Inn
The Five Dials Hotel Horton Cross

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing