We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trefellas Like this place”
Review of The Five Dials Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Five Dials Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Horton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Trefellas Like this place”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Took the family here for a good meal a few days before we came to play music in the pub. The vegetarian meals were good and staff were attentive and friendly and the Sunday atmosphere a good mix of eaters and locals.
Our gig the next Wednesday was well supported and staff looked after us well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trefellas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    32
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
40
74
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We received a very friendly welcome at the FIve Dials. We had pre booked a table for 12 for Saturday lunchtime and had ordered our food in advance, hence there was no waiting and the food was delicious. Sarah and Paul were very accommodating. The waitress was really friendly and helpful. Couldn't fault a thing, will definately return.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Called in for lunch one day having seen very good reviews. had to wait a long time to be served but the menu warns that everything is cooked from fresh and it was very busy. Lovely tasty ham, well cooked chips. Drinks extremely good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmmming1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We have dined at most, if not all, the restaurants and inns within this part of Somerset. Without doubt The Five Dials is markedly the best for dining, a lunch or just a quick drink with the friendly locals. Other pubs nearby have their own quirky attractions, but they don't offer the level of service, friendliness and food quality of The Five Dials. The hosts, Paul and Sarah, are always welcoming whether this is your first or fiftieth visit. Cannot be faulted.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Djdstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Just had a 3 course Christmas meal here with work colleagues. Fantastic food and great atmosphere. Nothing is too much trouble. Would definitely eat here again. The pub was packed with other diners and everyone seemed well served and catered for.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TreesyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Beeding, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The accommodation is superb - attractive, comfortable and very clean - and we can't imagine staying anywhere else in the future in this lovely part of Somerset. The breakfast was delicious too and the hosts couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful.

The meal was also of a very high standard, with produce locally sourced, cooked well and beautifully presented. The staff were efficient and cheerful. This is an excellent inn - we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

on looking into the area to move to,went in on the saturday for a drink, ok not especially friendly welcome, but still booked table for sunday lunch,on the sunday went into square & compass in ashill,such a friendly welcome & landlord very chatty & friendly,( wish we'd stayed there for sunday lunch) proceeded to five dials as we had booked it, wished we hadnt bothered to be honest,paul behind the bar not very friendly person,had lunch ( not without noticing that the starters varied in size, i had whitebait ok then chap on next table had same starter about 20mins later & his was twice size of mine)!! might sound petty but if we all paying same price i find that abit naughty,wouldnt bother moving to this area or entertaining this pub!!restaurant again, when the waitress asked if all was alright i said yes it was (alright) then she said what was wrong with it, & i said nothing wrong but it was just alright which lunch was alright not fantastic,so we drank up & left, seems to have the monopoly of the 3 villages which is a shame,if we were here longer i would deffinatly go to the square & compass as they seem genuinally interested in their customers & a lovely counrty pub.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horton
2.1 mi away
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
3.7 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
4.0 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Shave Farm
Shave Farm
#1 of 12 in Ilminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.0 mi away
The George at Donyatt
The George at Donyatt
#9 of 12 in Ilminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.3 mi away
Square & Compass Inn
Square & Compass Inn
#4 of 12 in Ilminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Five Dials Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Five Dials Inn

Property: The Five Dials Inn
Address: Goose Lane | Horton, Horton, Ilminster TA19 9QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Ilminster > Horton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Horton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Five Dials Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Five Dials Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Five Dials Hotel Horton Cross
The 5 Dials Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing