We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful scenery”
Review of Combe House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Combe House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Holford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

The hotel is a very nice calm and quiet place, a good place to get away from everyday life. Decor was tastful, the room was a nice size with a very comfortabe bed and a huge shower in the bathroom although I did nearly burn myself on the exposed hot pipework.

The TV was a little unfortunately placed and a bit small (we weren't too bothered by this although the tv signal was poor as was the internet signal and mobile reception but as this was an area of outstanding natural beauty it wasn't a problem).

The staff seemed a little casual initially however the service was excellent, the food was also excellent although I though the english breakfast was a little small however there was a wide selection of cereals and fruit juice on offer.

Included in our stay were a spa treatment each in the treatment room on site, we had an indian head massage and a neck back and shoulder massage, the masseuse was knowledgeable and professional and made it an enjoyable experience

All in all a nice family friendly place to get away for a couple of days in a beautiful part of the country, We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alextaylor3856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    185
    58
    22
    18
See reviews for
112
426
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at Combe House Hotel on the Tuesday after a four hour to see how beautiful this hotel and surrounding were. The garden was very well kept and so peaceful. I hate reading essays on here so I'm going to keep it short. The food is probably the best I have ever tasted, I do not know how he isn't a Michelin star chief, and I'm very critical about my food. The service from all of the staff was amazing. Very professional, kind and really helpful. But please get the bell fix'd where the bar is.

The bedrooms where cleaned everyday & fresh towels.
The only biggest moan and I don't know if all the rooms have this is that room 15 bed is so uncomfortable and the bed really makes a noise when you move. I would of given you full marks had it had not of been for that.

If you want a quiet week/weekend away I would highly recommend this place.

Great food, great staff and very very well managed. !!!!!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We shared a great weekend with our friends from Germany at Combe House which after a hectic week was the perfect place to relax.
We both had standard rooms which were satisfactory but with very comfortable twin beds. Our room No 17 was a little noisy being over kitchen exactor fan and the ensuite bathroom was down 3 steps which would not be easy for an older couple in middle of night.
The breakfast and dinner was excellent and our German friends felt the dinner menu and presentation of food was as good as they were used to in Germany. ( they had high standards )
Our walk over the Quantocks was great although it was a steep climb.
There did not appear to be any telephone signal although the credit card machine worked well.
Our cocker Spaniel dog was happy at our choice of hotel and it was easy to go for a walk straight from hotel garden.
Sometimes the staff who mostly multy tasked were difficult to find especially at bar open time.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms would be better than rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minehead, Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Apologies to the team at Combe House Hotel for this very late review! My wife and I had a fantastic wedding at this beautiful hotel in the Quantock Hills last September. Everything about our wedding was first class from the food to the rooms. Sophie and the team were always really friendly and happy to help in making our day perfect (including dealing with all our very specific requests!!). Sophie also gave us lots of good advice and ideas for our big day. All our guests thoroughly enjoyed themselves and commented on what a beautiful venue it was. We also had lots of great comments about the food, which was lovely and really well presented. In the evening we had the chefs homemade pasties option too, which were great and are highly recommended. The price of alcohol was very reasonable too, unlike so many other wedding venues. As soon as we visited Combe House for the first time we knew it was the right place for us. The whole package, including the very relaxed nature of the whole place made us feel we would get the sort of country style wedding we wanted. And we did! My wife and I would highly recommend Combe House Hotel for weddings or breaks. The hotel is perfectly located in a wooded combe beneath the Quantock Hills. Having walked a bit in the area myself, you can walk up to the top of the combe for great walks and views across the Bristol Channel. Peace and tranquility reigns everywhere. Although we are late in giving our review we hope it is better late than never. We have some great memories 9 months on.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbianio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Overall the hotel is nice and food was great however I could not justify the charge for an upgraded room as the standard was what you would expect anyway. More choice on the menu would have been nice! Great pub 10 mins away with lots of choice is a bonus.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We have just held a lunch for 20 people at the Combe House Hotel to celebrate my mother's 90th birthday. The staff were great as we planned the party and worked hard on the day to make it a success. They got the amount of attention just right - there when you wanted them but not over attentive. The food was perfect and the setting is extraordinary - one of the most beautiful parts of the Quantock Hills which themselves are one of the most beautiful bits of England. Highly recommended. Martin Brown

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinEBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

A previous 'truthful' reviewer complained about their Groupon deal and differences in room sizes. I suppose the hotel subscribes to Groupon to make up their bookings but "truthfully", it isn't that kind of place. It's quirky comfortable accommodation with good food and attentive staff, in an old building in a beautiful location.

If you like walking (or cycling, or sightseeing, or relaxing) in this sort of area (the Quantocks as it turns out), with no noise apart from birdsong - unless there's a wedding on - you could hardly do better.

Food good to excellent, especially breakfast (though their cups are too small). Staff likewise. Bed comfortable, room clean. Grounds very pleasant. Local walking options excellent. As it's fairly minimally staffed I can understand why some-one's particular needs (e.g. hot chocolate) didn't work out but it doesn't claim to be the Ritz.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olivia2094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holford
1.3 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
10.1 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
713 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
651 reviews
10.9 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
387 reviews
4.5 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Combe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Combe House Hotel

Property: Combe House Hotel
Address: Butterfly Combe, Holford TA5 1RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Holford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Holford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Combe House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Combe House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Combe House Hotel Holford, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing