We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday lunch”
Review of Combe House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Combe House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Holford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2014

What a superb lunch at this hotel in a picturesque location. Took my mother for a treat and we thoroughly enjoyed our experience. The staff were welcoming and efficient. We chose fish and chips from the lunch menu. The meal was absolutely delicious with freshly cooked fish in a light batter, beautiful chips, tartare sauce, lemon wedge and salad leaves. We indulged in the raspberry panna cotta for dessert which was also of excellent quality. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for well presented tasty food. Very good value.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (698)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 698 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on a Groupon Deal. Thoroughly enjoyed it. The deal was inclusive of a Cream tea which did not disappoint. The standard / quality of the food throughout the stay was excellent. We stayed in room 11 and the bed was the most comfortable I have ever experienced in a hotel. Not a great deal of "sitting" areas within the hotel and only a very small bar area. However there is a pub a few minutes walk away that also serves reasonable food. Great hotel if you like walking (several walks detailed in the hotel directory, copies of which are available to take with you) and is dog friendly. I would recommend it and I would stay again.

Room Tip: Room 11 has a great bed but no bath (shower only) even though it is a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Our stay here was a gift from our daughter to thank us for her wedding. We could not have wished for a nicer gift! We had a superior room, cream tea with bubbly and ate in the hotel on our first night (second night the restaurant was booked for a private party), my wife and I also had massages in the Treatment Room, many thanks Lynda. 10 out of 10 Combe House! Highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank MarkSueFromWilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Lovely hotel staff very friendly and professional. Rooms comfortable and clean. Food delicious and good value. Wish we had booked for two nights and not just one. On wine and dine deal which is such a good idea.

Room Tip: upgrade to superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My mother very kindly booked my new husband and I a table here to celebrate our Honeymoon and joint Birthdays, whilst on our short break in the Quantock Hills, Somerset.
The welcome, ambience and food was amazing. We had a Rib Eye Steak and Pork Belly for our main courses, both of which were exceptional and delicious. This is a hidden gem as off the beaten track, but definiately worth a visit. The service was brilliant, a real feel of a happy, comfortable and professionally run establishment. Thank you all for a fabulous memorable evening! Love, the Beales' x

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nichola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This was our second stay at this hotel, and it was as pleasant as the first stay, All staff were vry friendly(includig Jenny the cat) and the room was very soacious and clean, the food n the restauran was excellent accompanied by some verygood wine.

Room Tip: W had room 20 which was very spacious and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We live locally to Combe House Hotel and regularly walk on the Quantocks. We often go to the hotel for lunch, where they do an amazing sunday roast or really tasty lunches.
The staff are very friendly and welcoming and always ensure that everyone (dogs, children etc) are catered for and confortable.
It is a very special place and is always a treat to vsiit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miss001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holford
1.3 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
10.1 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
743 reviews
15.6 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
120 reviews
10.1 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
137 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Combe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Combe House Hotel

Address: Butterfly Combe, Holford TA5 1RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Holford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Holford
Price Range: $120 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Combe House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Combe House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Combe House Hotel Holford, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing