We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for relaxing weekend away”
Review of Combe House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Combe House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Holford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good for relaxing weekend away”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The hotel is based in a lovely quite location and with close distance to a few nice attractions. Clean and fresh room, could do with a bit of extra decor items to extract the beauty and history of the hotel. The food was good, however would like to see different 'today's special menu on each night. Room just above the main entrance is quite noisy, you can hear people coming in and out even with closed window. Overall good for romantic/ relaxing weekend away.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoannaTravels00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    185
    58
    22
    18
See reviews for
112
426
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights using Groupon coupon we had been given a gift. We had warm welcome, including cream tea with fizz, although we were advised it was quite late. Paid for upgraded room. We stayed in room 20 which was pretty. As expected the en suite was a little less than state of the art. Towels were lovely, bathroom very clean. A pleasant, spacious room with king size bed. Only downside, thin plasterboard walls. We knew what our neighbours were doing and saying in their en suite. Can only assume others would be disturbed by us. However we chose not to dwell on this and let it spoil our stay. On first night we enjoyed a well prepared, beautifully presented meal. Breakfast on both days was nice, good quality sausages and bacon. Only downside for me was no fruit. Our second night dinner was rather less enjoyable. We both had cold potato product. Chips were lukewarm and mash so cold it was inedible. Such a shame. Waitress explained this was because they were busy and we received complimentary dessert. Was particularly disappointed to find soup of the day, fish of the day and today's special were exactly the same on both nights. This was disappointing as we were there for a Ruby Wedding celebration.
We didn't see any dogs during our stay which was a plus for us. Hotel is so clean and smells so fresh it was a joy. ( I really dislike the smell of wet dog, but there was none. )
Would certainly think about returning, perhaps in better weather when a stroll to the pub for menu change would be more attractive. Recent bad weather had left road somewhat muddy. Not relevant to hotel standards I know.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CornwallLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonesx
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in the summer, the location was lovely and peaceful. The owner advised me that there was a wedding party on the nights that we stayed so they would put us in a room closer to the other end of the hotel, nice touch. But the room we were put into was rather drab and uninteresting, it appears to me that the whole place needs a bit of updating and "love".
The breakfast was average and uninspiring to the palette, we had dinner one night and this was much the same with a limited menu. The staff were also difficult to find sometimes, which made things frustrating when you wanted to order food, a drink from the bar or even when we came to check out.

With a bit of love and money spent on this hotel it could be perfect, you are nearly there Combe House Hotel.....the reviewers are telling you that....just try a little harder.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonesx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garethweed, Manager at Combe House Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Tonesx
Thank you for your review – although it always surprises me when a reviewer waits 6 months before deciding to write and post a report. Regards your room I can only state that in over 250 reviews on this site ‘drab’ is an adjective not previously used. You booked a standard room at a heavily discounted rate and we took it upon ourselves to make sure that you were not inconvenienced by the large wedding party taking place. However without specifics as to the ‘drab’ we cannot rectify (if required) accordingly.
Regards your description of our food what exactly do you mean by a breakfast having an uninspiring palette? Eggs are from our local farm and bacon from our local butcher. Confused.
We did indeed run a reduced menu due to the fact we were looking after the wedding party but again without any detail behind your generalised comment it is hard to discern what was wrong for you, especially in light of the great many comments made publically and to our staff about how excellent our restaurant is. There were indeed fewer staff on than normal due to the focus being on the wedding party and we apologise if this caused you any inconvenience. Thank you again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We booked through a friend who has been here innumerable times and we fancied being away for New Year as we had heard there was a good "Bash" over New Year.
We arrived on New years eve and were met by very friendly staff. We had room 11 which was a very comfy large double overlooking the side garden. It was very quiet and peaceful room.
The hotel is ideally situated for walking around the many Quantock walks using Holford as a base.
We had a fantastic time, the New Years eve meal was delicious and the festivities ran through till the wee hours, and then all we had to do was climb the stairs to bed!
Friends brought dogs with them and everyone was well catered for, the staff are very friendly and helpful .

Room Tip: The garden suite is great if you have dogs, we stayed in room 11. A large double with shower- no bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fat-Tony1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garethweed, Manager at Combe House Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your review, we are very glad to hear that you and your friends had a good time over New Year, we thouroughly enjoyed looking after our New Year guests who were all in good spirits and were a real delight.
We hope to see you all again soon - kind regards - Combe House - Holford - Somerset
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Booked a groupon deal £139 for 2 nights bed and breakfast with festive afternoon tea.
Arrived to a very warm welcome from the man at reception.
Paid £30 for a room upgrade. Stayed in room 14, not really sure what was so special about the room that it was classed as an upgraded one. There was a 2 seater sofa right at the bottom of the bed, not that it could have been used to sit on to watch tv as the tv was high up on the wall which was right in front of the sofa. All in all the room was pretty basic, certainly not worth paying an extra £30 for. Having read previous reviews it would seem that having a bath is classed as an upgrade so maybe thats what i paid for.
The room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was ok, you can help yourself to cereal and juice everything else was made to order. However no yoghurts or pastries available.
The "festive afternoon tea" was just 2 mince pies and a glass of mulled wine so maybe should have been advertised as such.
The hotel itself is set in a lovely area, peaceful and pet friendly.
Wifi is available but the signal in rooms is not great, works best in the bar and restaurant.

Room Tip: Wouldn't pay extra for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garethweed, Manager at Combe House Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Sally D – thank you for your feedback and just a few comments by way of balance. Regards the room upgrade, as you experienced our hotel is a 200 year old Grade 2 listed building, and every room is a different dimension. Your room is classed as Superior as it is in a quieter location within the building with views of the grounds, a super-king size bed and large bathroom with corner bath and walk in shower, none of which you mention, it is certainly not ‘pretty basic’ which is just a throw-away term.
In respect of festive afternoon tea, quite what were you expecting, in the deal you purchased it was advertised exactly as you were provided. It was a shame that you decided not to try our restaurant on either evening of your stay and did not have breakfast on the day of departure due to your partner enduring a nasty bout of food poisoning contracted from eating elsewhere which saw him hospitalised which must have been most upsetting for you.
We do hope that if you are ever visiting West Somerset again you would come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We had the best weekend ever at Coombe House for our daughters wedding. The venue was beautiful and the staff couldn't have been more helpful, thanks to Sophie. The food was excellent. Thank you all for making everyone's weekend one to remember.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ringwood
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We spent a weekend at this fabulously run family hotel. Did not want to leave. Breakfast was delicious, as was the evening meal we had. The restaurant was busy with a large party but we were still attended to promptly and with excellent service and smiles. The owners Gareth and Catherine along with all of their staff were wonderful, considerate and friendly. I'm in a wheelchair so weekends away are not easy but everyone went out of their way to help or offer assistance. The "Treatment Room" was very relaxing and excellent value for money. Lynda is a very talented and experienced therapist who went out of her way to accommodate us. Well worth treating yourself to a soak in the hot tub too.

Room Tip: Ground floor superior room is accessible for disabled and has its own conservatory and access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RingwoodKingfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holford
1.3 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
10.1 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
713 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
651 reviews
10.9 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
387 reviews
4.5 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Combe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Combe House Hotel

Property: Combe House Hotel
Address: Butterfly Combe, Holford TA5 1RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Holford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Holford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Combe House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Combe House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Combe House Hotel Holford, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing