We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful setting....hotel could and should do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Combe House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Combe House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Holford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
tonesx
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting....hotel could and should do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in the summer, the location was lovely and peaceful. The owner advised me that there was a wedding party on the nights that we stayed so they would put us in a room closer to the other end of the hotel, nice touch. But the room we were put into was rather drab and uninteresting, it appears to me that the whole place needs a bit of updating and "love".
The breakfast was average and uninspiring to the palette, we had dinner one night and this was much the same with a limited menu. The staff were also difficult to find sometimes, which made things frustrating when you wanted to order food, a drink from the bar or even when we came to check out.

With a bit of love and money spent on this hotel it could be perfect, you are nearly there Combe House Hotel.....the reviewers are telling you that....just try a little harder.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonesx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garethweed, Manager at Combe House Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Tonesx
Thank you for your review – although it always surprises me when a reviewer waits 6 months before deciding to write and post a report. Regards your room I can only state that in over 250 reviews on this site ‘drab’ is an adjective not previously used. You booked a standard room at a heavily discounted rate and we took it upon ourselves to make sure that you were not inconvenienced by the large wedding party taking place. However without specifics as to the ‘drab’ we cannot rectify (if required) accordingly.
Regards your description of our food what exactly do you mean by a breakfast having an uninspiring palette? Eggs are from our local farm and bacon from our local butcher. Confused.
We did indeed run a reduced menu due to the fact we were looking after the wedding party but again without any detail behind your generalised comment it is hard to discern what was wrong for you, especially in light of the great many comments made publically and to our staff about how excellent our restaurant is. There were indeed fewer staff on than normal due to the focus being on the wedding party and we apologise if this caused you any inconvenience. Thank you again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    172
    57
    20
    17
See reviews for
105
395
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
129 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We booked through a friend who has been here innumerable times and we fancied being away for New Year as we had heard there was a good "Bash" over New Year.
We arrived on New years eve and were met by very friendly staff. We had room 11 which was a very comfy large double overlooking the side garden. It was very quiet and peaceful room.
The hotel is ideally situated for walking around the many Quantock walks using Holford as a base.
We had a fantastic time, the New Years eve meal was delicious and the festivities ran through till the wee hours, and then all we had to do was climb the stairs to bed!
Friends brought dogs with them and everyone was well catered for, the staff are very friendly and helpful .

Room Tip: The garden suite is great if you have dogs, we stayed in room 11. A large double with shower- no bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fat-Tony1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garethweed, Manager at Combe House Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your review, we are very glad to hear that you and your friends had a good time over New Year, we thouroughly enjoyed looking after our New Year guests who were all in good spirits and were a real delight.
We hope to see you all again soon - kind regards - Combe House - Holford - Somerset
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Booked a groupon deal £139 for 2 nights bed and breakfast with festive afternoon tea.
Arrived to a very warm welcome from the man at reception.
Paid £30 for a room upgrade. Stayed in room 14, not really sure what was so special about the room that it was classed as an upgraded one. There was a 2 seater sofa right at the bottom of the bed, not that it could have been used to sit on to watch tv as the tv was high up on the wall which was right in front of the sofa. All in all the room was pretty basic, certainly not worth paying an extra £30 for. Having read previous reviews it would seem that having a bath is classed as an upgrade so maybe thats what i paid for.
The room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was ok, you can help yourself to cereal and juice everything else was made to order. However no yoghurts or pastries available.
The "festive afternoon tea" was just 2 mince pies and a glass of mulled wine so maybe should have been advertised as such.
The hotel itself is set in a lovely area, peaceful and pet friendly.
Wifi is available but the signal in rooms is not great, works best in the bar and restaurant.

Room Tip: Wouldn't pay extra for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garethweed, Manager at Combe House Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Sally D – thank you for your feedback and just a few comments by way of balance. Regards the room upgrade, as you experienced our hotel is a 200 year old Grade 2 listed building, and every room is a different dimension. Your room is classed as Superior as it is in a quieter location within the building with views of the grounds, a super-king size bed and large bathroom with corner bath and walk in shower, none of which you mention, it is certainly not ‘pretty basic’ which is just a throw-away term.
In respect of festive afternoon tea, quite what were you expecting, in the deal you purchased it was advertised exactly as you were provided. It was a shame that you decided not to try our restaurant on either evening of your stay and did not have breakfast on the day of departure due to your partner enduring a nasty bout of food poisoning contracted from eating elsewhere which saw him hospitalised which must have been most upsetting for you.
We do hope that if you are ever visiting West Somerset again you would come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We had the best weekend ever at Coombe House for our daughters wedding. The venue was beautiful and the staff couldn't have been more helpful, thanks to Sophie. The food was excellent. Thank you all for making everyone's weekend one to remember.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ringwood
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We spent a weekend at this fabulously run family hotel. Did not want to leave. Breakfast was delicious, as was the evening meal we had. The restaurant was busy with a large party but we were still attended to promptly and with excellent service and smiles. The owners Gareth and Catherine along with all of their staff were wonderful, considerate and friendly. I'm in a wheelchair so weekends away are not easy but everyone went out of their way to help or offer assistance. The "Treatment Room" was very relaxing and excellent value for money. Lynda is a very talented and experienced therapist who went out of her way to accommodate us. Well worth treating yourself to a soak in the hot tub too.

Room Tip: Ground floor superior room is accessible for disabled and has its own conservatory and access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RingwoodKingfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Lovely quaint hotel, nice clean newly refurbished rooms. Dog friendly but as it creaks I would upgrade to room that has easy access outside for my annoying dog that likes an early morning wee! Also worth upgrading to superior room to get a bath bit our shower was lovely! Will come again for sure...food is great too!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bub72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Just got back from Combe House Hotel - after an amazing couple of days ! Beautiful boutique style rooms, all individually decorated ! We upgraded to a room with a bath ( as some only have showers) - room 2 - couldn't fault it ! No need to dine out as the restaurant is affordable and food is fantastic ! Perfect for a romantic getaway from it all break !

Room Tip: Room 2 won't disappoint !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkdey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garethweed, General Manager at Combe House Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you so very much for your kind words - it is very much appreciated by all the staff and we are glad that you enjoyed your visit to our little corner of the Quantock Hills in West Somerset.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holford
1.3 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
15.6 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
10.1 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
11.8 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
4.5 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Combe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Combe House Hotel

Property: Combe House Hotel
Address: Butterfly Combe, Holford TA5 1RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Holford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Holford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Combe House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Combe House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Combe House Hotel Holford, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing